Former guard for the Minnesota Morris Cougar mens basketball team was named to the UMAC All-Decade team announced by the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference Thursday, Jan. 17. Below is an excerpt from the UMAC news release.

CD Douglas, University of Minnesota Morris (2014-2018)

Douglas is one of the most decorated players in UMAC men's basketball history. The guard was a three-time All-UMAC First Team honoree and the 2017-18 Player of the Year. As a senior, Douglas was a First-Team All-Region pick by the NABC and D3Hoops and was D3Hoops All-America Fourth Team. He finished his career as Minnesota Morris' all-time leading scorer (1,960 points), second in career assists (455) and third in career rebounds (538). 

Reflect on Douglas' career with the UMM Cougars here.

Other individuals named to the All-Decade Team include Michael Carney (University of Northwestern, 2012-16), Wade Chitwood (Northwestern, 2009-13), Brandyn Frelix (Bethany Lutheran College, 2015-17) and Nate Roeder (North Central University, 2012-13*). The UMAC also recognized Northwestern head coach Tim Grosz as the Coach of the Decade and the 2014-15 Northwestern squad as the Men's Basketball Team of the Decade.

The rest of the All-Decade Team, per UMAC news release, below.

Michael Carney, University of Northwestern (2012-2016)

Carney helped lead Northwestern to three UMAC regular season titles and a NCAA Sweet Sixteen in 2014-15. That season, the guard was named the UMAC Player of the Year as a junior and also collected NABC All-Region First Team, D3Hoops All-Region Second Team and DIII News All-America Honorable Mention. Carney was twice All-UMAC First Team and finished with 1,378 career points for the Eagles. 

Wade Chitwood, University of Northwestern (2009-2013)

Chitwood led the Eagles to their first-ever NCAA tournament appearance in 2010-11 and three total appearances. Northwestern also won three regular season UMAC championships during his time. He was the 2011-12 UMAC Co-Player of the Year and a three-time all-conference player including twice on First Team. Chitwood averaged over 17.0 points per game (ppg) in his final two seasons and ranks seventh all-time at Northwestern in scoring with 1,486 career points. 

Brandyn Frelix, Bethany Lutheran College (2015-2017)

In just two seasons, Frelix helped elevate Bethany Lutheran to become a contender in the UMAC. The guard was a two-time All-UMAC First Team selection and the 2016-17 Player of the Year. That same season, Frelix was a NABC All-Region First Team pick and D3Hoops All-Region Third Team honoree. Over a two-year span, Frelix scored 918 career points and averaged over 18 ppg and 7 rebounds per game (rpg).

Nate Roeder, North Central University (2012-2013)*

Though Roeder only officially competed in the UMAC in 2012-13, he made a significant impact during that time. The guard was selected All-UMAC First Team and named the Player of the Year. Roeder earned NABC All-Region First Team accolades and Second Team from D3Hoops. He was also a finalist for the Jostens Trophy which is given to the best Division III player on the court, in the classroom and in the community. He finished as the Rams all-time leading scorer with 2,235 career points.

Coach of The Decade

Tim Grosz,  University of Northwestern

Grosz is the most successful coach in Northwestern men's basketball history after 18 seasons at the helm. During the first 10 years of UMAC membership, Grosz led the Eagles to six regular season conference titles and seven-consecutive NCAA tournament appearances including the conference's first AQ season in 2010-11. Grosz earned four UMAC Coach of the Year titles and was named the West Region Coach of the Year after leading the Eagles to a NCAA Sweet Sixteen.  

Team of The Decade

U niversity of Northwestern , 2014-2015

Northwestern won the 2014-15 regular season title after finishing 14-0 and then advanced to the NCAA tournament after picking up the postseason championship. The Eagles became the first UMAC men's basketball program to win a national tournament game in the Division III era. Northwestern upset No. 3 University of St. Thomas before defeating Elmhurst College to advance to the Round of 16. The Eagles owned a program-best 18-game winning streak during the season. The team members were Michael Carney, Kyle Filzen, Nathan Foiland, Will Gisler, Caleb Janson, Matt Lindgren, Peter Maring, Porter Morrell, Kyle Ooms, Brock Peterson, Daniel Petkau, Jess Poppen, Isaiah Rahier, Brendan Reu, Grant Riessen, Thomas Shephard, Cody Sprenger, Austin Stubbs, Blake Van Maanen, Tyler Van Maanen, Tyler Vandenheuvel, Matt Watnemo and Aaron Youngberg. Head coach was Tim Grosz. 

*North Central was not an associate UMAC member for men's basketball until the 2012-13 season, and therefore, only that season is listed.