The Minnesota Morris cross country teams competed at the UW-Eau Claire BluGold Invite Friday, Sept. 28, in Eau Claire.

The Cougar men placed highest among the conference squads at 22nd overall. Northwestern, North Central, and Crown finished behind. UW-Stout won the team competition.

For the women, the Cougars were one of two UMAC teams competing. UMM came in 19th place with Northwestern finishing behind. UW-Eau Claire, again, won the team competition.

Individually, the men competed in a field over 430 runners and the women's field had just under 330 runners. Tyler Sassenberg delivered the best time for the Cougar men with an 81st finishing time of 26:41.6 over the eight-kilometer course. Ryan Anderson was eight seconds behind with a time of 26:49.3. Rounding out the top five for the Cougars were Benjamin Barnack (27:49.2), Raymond Abraham (28:15.3), and Edmund Cease (28:40.6).

For the women, Katherine Novak was the Cougars' top finisher as she ran a time of 23:57.0 to come in 74th place. Paige Stearns was next up for the Cougars as she clocked a 25:06.4. Completing the UMM top five were: Alexa Yeager (25:33.5), Jacqueline Schneider (26:51.2), and Montana Lawrence (27:05.0).

Minnesota Morris next runs Saturday, Oct. 13, at the St. Boni Invite hosted by Crown.