Weather Forecast


Wiese, Buss win in county races

Neil Wiese has won the Stevens County District 5 commissioner's race. Wiese had 417 votes.

Deceased county commissioner Phil Gausman had 308 votes. Gausman died on Sept. 8. He won the primary election. His name could not be removed from the election ballot.

There were 114 write-in votes. James Solvie was a registered write-in candidate.

Stephanie Buss won the auditor/treasurer's race. Buss had 2,612 votes or about 64 percent of the votes. Craig Swenson had 1,425 votes or about 35 percent. Current auditor/treasurer Amanda Barsness did not file for re-election.

Commissioner Jeanne Ennen was re-elected in District 2. She was unopposed. Nichole Olson Mahoney was elected county recorder. She was unopposed. Current recorder Virginia Mahoney did not file for re-election.