Weather Forecast


Volleyball: Fehr MVP, five Tigers earn all-conference

Five Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta volleyball players earned recognition by the West Central Conference announced Saturday, Nov. 11. Karly Fehr, Jenna Howden, Riley Decker, and Bailey Marty earned all-conference recognition while Jenna Larsen was named honorable mention.

Fehr was named Most Valuable Player by the WCC, Howden was named Most Valuable Hitter, and Decker was named Most Valuable Defender. Fehr also earned Class AA All-State for the second year in a row.

The Tigers finished first place in the conference with a 13-1 conference record. It marks the first time Morris/C-A earned the conference title outright. The Tigers did win a share of the conference title in 2016 and Morris won the WCC-South back in 2000 when the conference was divided into two divisions.

The Tigers graduate four seniors: Fehr, Howden, Larsen, and Islande Sperr.

Final West Central Conference Standings

Most Valuable Player: Karly Fehr, Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta

Most Valuable Setter: Mikayla Snow, BOLD

Most Valuable Hitter: Jenna Howden, Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta

Most Valuable Defender: Riley Decker, Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta


Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta: Fehr, Howden, Decker, Marty

Melrose: Mia Meyer, Mashaye Tschida, Makiya Luetner, Kelsey Fleischhacker

Sauk Centre: Kenzie Schmiesing, Reece Ritter

Montevideo: Jessica Tastad, Molly Reeves

BOLD: Taylor Sagedahl, Mikaya Snow

Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City: Riley Wilner, Alex Hovey

Benson: Liz Staten, Courtney McNeil

Minnewaska: Ellie Danielson

Honorable Mention

Morris/C-A: Jenna Larsen

Melrose: Courtney Gerads

Sauk Centre: Nicole Kortan

Montevideo: Sydney Bedner

BOLD: Brenna Weis

A-C-GC: Madison Denton

Benson: Leah Molden

Minnewaska: Emma Thorfinnson

Brooke Kern

Please send sports story ideas, photo submissions, and comments to Sports photo ordering can be found here:

FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA! Facebook: Stevens County Times | Twitter: @SCTimesSports | Instagram: @SCTimesSports