Weather Forecast


Three Tigers capture titles at home invite

Dillan Johnson (left) was named the Co-MVW, along with Zach Carlson of K-M-S, at the Morris Invite Saturday.

Three Tigers captured titles when the Morris Area/Hancock/Chokio-Alberta wrestling team hosted the an Invitational on Saturday. 

Dillan Johnson took the 138-pound title and was named Co-MVW. 

Connor Metzger claimed the 170-pound title.

Joel Harrison won the 220-pound title, taking first place in the Morris Invitational for the third-straight year. 

The Tigers had one other wrestler in the finals.  Evan Nelson took second place at 126 pounds. 

Eleven other Tigers placed in the tournament.

As a team, the Tigers finished in third place scoring 152 points. 

Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg won the team title with 264.50 points.  Zach Carlson of K-M-S was the other Co-MVW.  He captured the 152-pound title.   

Dillan Johnson, the No. 3 seed, started his title run with a pin over Zach Larsen of Fosston/Bagley in the quarter-final match.  He then beat the No. 2 seed, Jace Loge, of Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 6-4 in overtime in the semi-finals match.  In the championship match he beat the No. 1 seed, Ben Lundebrek, of Benson.   

Conner Metzger was the No. 1 seed at 170 pounds and received a first-round bye.  In the semi-final match he pinned Isaac Cloos of Ortonville in 3:25.  In the finals he pinned Karter Vanheuveln of K-M-S in 4:46.

Joel Harrison was also the No. 1 seed in the 220-pound weight class.  In the quarter-final match he pinned Jordan Bruns of West Central Area in 2:31.  In the semi-final match he beat Kurt Kent of Pequot Lakes 8-1.  In the finals he defeated Jorge Munoz-Peterson of K-M-S 7-4.

Evan Nelson was the No. 2 seed at 126 pounds.  In the quarter-final match he pinned Lucas McCoy of Pequot Lakes in 1:46.  In the semi-final match he pinned Gabe Hanson of Fosston/Bagley in 1:03.  In the finals he lost to the No. 1 seed, Cody Peters, of K-M-S by a score of 11-3.

At 113 pounds Mitchell Ascheman finished 2-1 for third place.

At 195 pounds Alec Gausman finished 2-1 for third place.

At 106 pounds Matthew Munsterman finished in fourth place with a 1-2 record.

At 132 pounds Travis Ostby took fourth place going 0-2.

At 120 pounds Philip Messner placed fifth going 2-1.

At 285 pounds Jacob Sperr placed fifth going 0-1. 

At 182 pounds Matt Vinson took sixth place going 0-2.

Devin Robertson was 0-2 at 145 pounds.

Jerid Berning was 0-2 at 152 pounds.  

Morris Invitational Wrestling Tournament

1. Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg 264.50; 2. Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 177.00; 3. Morris/Hancock/C-A 152.00; 4. Benson 114.50; 5. Fosston/Bagley 105.00; 6. Breckenridge 85.00; 7. West Central Area 80.50; 8. Ortonville 71.00