Weather Forecast


Morris boys, LQPV/DB girls dethrone Montevideo to win WC South Conference titles

Dan Tiernan, right, of Morris Area is a step behind Cade Robinson of Lac qui Parle Valley/Dawson-Boyd midway through the West Central South Conference cross country meet Tuesday at The Crossings in Montevideo. Tiernan would pull ahead of Robertson to win the individual title and lead the Tigers to first place. Tribune photo by Rand Middleton

MONTEVIDEO -- Individual champion Dan Tiernan led the Morris Area Tigers to first place in boys and girls winner Tera Walker did the same for Lac qui Parle Valley/Dawson-Boyd at the West Central South Conference meet Tuesday.

Montevideo, the 2009 champion in both boys and girls, finished runner-up in both races at The Crossings golf course.

Tiernan, who was 11th last year as a junior, ran with Cade Robertson of Lac qui Parle Valley/Dawson-Boyd until late in the race to finish the 5k in 17:28. Robertson was next, eight seconds back.

Tiernan is the second straight Tiger to win the boys individual title. Roy Reese, who placed third, won as a freshman last fall.

Walker, a junior and a four-time state entrant, ran with eighth-grade teammate Alaysia Freetly most of the race.

BOLD/Buffalo Lake-Hector eighth-grader Jessica Senkyr led the 4k race for about 3,000 yards with Montevideo's Hannah Ehling in second and the Lac qui Parle Valley/Dawson-Boyd pair of Walker and Freetly next. Walker made her move with 300 yards left, overtaking Senkyr and then outkicking Ehling to win by two seconds in 15:35.

Walker finished second last year.


Team scoring

(1) Morris Area 37 (2) Montevideo 51 (3) Lac qui Parle Valley/Dawson-Boyd 70 (4) Paynesville 85 (5) BOLD/Buffalo Lake-Hector 143 (6) Yellow Medicine East 148 (7) Benson/Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg incomplete


TOP FIVE -- (1) Dan Tiernan, Mor, 17:28 (2) Cade Robertson, LDB, 17:36 (3) Roy Reese, Mor, 17:53 (4) Alex Stamp, LDB, 17:54 (5) Anthony Poepping, Pay, 18:03

MORRIS -- (1) Tiernan 17:28 (3) Reese 17:53 (6) Aaron Goulet 18:05 (14) Matt Cotter 18:44 (15) Gage Anderson 18:46


Team scoring

(1) Lac qui Parle Valley/Dawson-Boyd 47 (2) Montevideo 56 (3) Paynesville 84 (4) Benson/Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg 88 (5) Morris Area 129 (6) BOLD/Buffalo Lake-Hector 150 (7) Minnewaska 163


TOP FIVE -- (1) Tera Walker, LDB, 15:35 (2) Hannah Ehling, Mon, 15:37 (3) Jessica Senkyr, BBLH, 15:47 (4) Alaysia Freetly, LDB, 16:10 (5) Hannah Weber, BKMS, 16:11

MORRIS -- (7) Makenzie Smith 16:25 (27) Rachel Rausch 17:41 (33) Jana Loher 18:10 (35) Becca Holland 18:25 (37) Julia Sauder 18:40