Weather Forecast


Tigers win their 10th Morris Invite

Mitch Carbert's infield single with no outs in the bottom of the seventh inning scored Ryan Beyer with the winning run as Morris Area nipped MACCRAY 6-5 in the championship of the four-team Morris Invitational on Saturday.

The tournament was originally scheduled for April 23-24, but not completed because of inclement weather.

Morris has won its own invite 10 times in the 26 years it's been held.

MACCRAY 16, West Central 8

Brandon Madsen, Jordan Ruter, Tyler Wrede and Caleb Hanson had two hits apiece to lead a 13-hit attack for the Wolverines. Ruter, Madsen and Jarrod Holmgren drove in two runs each.

Madsen, the third of three MACCRAY pitchers, was credited with the win, allowing three hits and one earned run over three innings. He walked one and struck out three.

Morris 4, West Central 1

Tyler Hansen tossed a three-hitter with six strikeouts to lift the Tigers past West Central Area 4-1.

Ryan Beyer and Cole Riley had RBI singles for Morris. Hansen went 2-for-2.

Morris 6, MACCRAY 5

Morris led 4-0 before MACCRAY rallied back and eventually tied the game 4-4 in the sixth inning.

Morris regained the lead in its half of the sixth on a squeeze bunt by Tanner Rohloff that scored pinch-runner Cody Hickman.

MACCRAY then tied the game in the top of the seventh on Caleb Hanson's run-scoring single that plated Tyler Wrede, who reached on an error. Wrede leaped headfirst over the Morris catcher to score.

Ryan Beyer led off the bottom of the seventh with a single, then stole second and third. Mitch Carbert then hit an infield chopper over the head of the pitcher that allowed Beyer to score the winning run.

Carbert was 2-for-3 with three RBI for the Tigers. Cole Riley finished 2-for-3.