Weather Forecast


MAHACA Tigers place two at Big Bear

The Morris Area/Hancock/Chokio-Alberta Tiger wrestling team competed in the very tough Big Bear wrestling tournament on Dec. 20 and 21. Thirty-three teams traveled to Cass Lake to compete.

Tigers finished in a very respectable sixteenth place with 74.5 points. Hutchinson won the tournament with 199.0 points.

Leading the Tigers were sophomore Travis Ostby and senior Dillan Johnson. Five other Tigers ended the tournament with 2-2 records with eight of their wins from pins, so they contributed a lot to the final point total.

Travis Ostby, wrestling at 132 pounds for this competition, placed fourth. In the opening round, Ostby pinned Zack Waln of Bertha-Hewitt-Verndale in 3:32.  He was then defeated in a very tough overtime match by Noah Bernier of Thief River Falls by the score of 7-5.  In the consolation bracket, Ostby started out dominating with pins over John Grife of Deer River in :21 seconds and Trevor Underberg of Badger-Greenbush-Middle River in :49 seconds. Things got a bit harder, but Ostby continued to win.  Ostby defeated Tyler Karl of Hutchinson 6-0 and Kyle Michalek of the host team Blackduck-Cass Lake-Bena by a score of 6-4.  In the consolation semi-finals, Ostby’s opponent was supposed to be the wrestler he lost to earlier from Thief River Falls, but Bernier was injured therefore Ostby took the win by injury default.  In the 3rd place match, Ostby was defeated by Austin Miley of Willmar 12-3.

Dillan Johnson wrestled in the 145 pound weight class and was the No. 2 seed in the tournament. Johnson started with a 7-1 decision over Dillon Nichols of Pequot Lakes-Pine River, then won by a major decision 16-5 over Casey Warner of Roseau. In the quarter finals, Johnson defeated Kody Lefebvre of Marshall West 8-4. The competition then got really tough and Johnson was not able to win another match. In the semi-finals, Johnson lost to Mason Swegarden of United Clay-Becker 6-1.  Then in the consolation semi-finals, Johnson lost to Rylee Anderson of Barnesville by a very close decision 3-1. In the 5th place match, Johnson was defeated by Alexi Body of Fosston-Bagley in another very close match 6-5, taking sixth in the tournament.

The Tigers will now prepare during the holiday break for a very busy beginning of the year. Due to the cancellation of the Breckenridge dual and combining of the Montevideo and Dawson Boyd Lac Qui Parle teams, the Tigers will be adding the Benson Tournament onto the schedule on Saturday, January 4. The young Tigers will also head to Rocori for a ninth grade tournament that Saturday.

Team Results

199.0 Hutchinson

170.5 Willmar

132.5 Blackduck/Cass Lake Bena                   

124.5 Bemidji                                                       

119.0 Barnesville                                                

117.0 Pequot Lakes Pine River Backus         

113.5 Detroit Lakes                                             

109.5 Badger Greenbush Middle River          

105.0 Bertha Hewitt Verndale                          

104.0 Fergus Falls                                              

102.0 Crookston                                                  

101.0 United North Central                               

100.0 Thief River Falls                                       

90.0 Hibbing                                                      

80.5 New York Mills                                         

74.5 MAHACA                                                   

73.0 West Central Area                                   

68.0 Crosby Ironton                                          

67.5 Fosston Bagley                                        

65.5 Dilworth Glyndon Felton                        

64.0 Staples-Motley                                          

59.0 Big Lake                                                    

57.0 Aitkin                                  

56.0 Park Rapids                                              

53.0 Roseau                                                      

51.5 United Clay Becker                                 

51.0 Mahnomem Waubun                              

29.0 Red Lake County Central                      

22.0 Robbinsdale Cooper                               

22.0 Walker Hackensack Akeley Nevis                    

15.0 Deer River

9.0 Wadena Deer Creek

2.0 West Marshall

Individual Results

(Key: weight, name, record, place)

106 Christian Athey 0-2 DNP

113 Matt Munsterman 0-2 DNP

120 Mitchel Ascheman 1-1 DNP (Injured)

126 Jared Rohloff 0-2 DNP

132 Travis Ostby 6-2 4th

138 Trenton Nelson 2-2 DNP

145 Dillan Johnson 3-3 6th

152 Myles Smith 2-2 DNP

160 Jerid Berning 1-2 DNP

170 Jordan Thooft 0-2 DNP

182 Danny Tracy 2-2 DNP

195 Aaron Nelson 2-2 DNP

220 Alec Gausman 2-2 DNP

285 Open

Brooke Kern

Please send sports story ideas, photo submissions, and comments to Sports photo ordering can be found here:

FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA! Facebook: Stevens County Times | Twitter: @SCTimesSports | Instagram: @SCTimesSports