Weather Forecast


Storm girls gain experience in building year

The Morris Benson Area girls' hockey team fought through more growing pains during the 2012-2013 season and in the process made strides to rebuilding the team for the future.

The Storm finished the season 4-19 overall. Their wins came against Southwest Conference teams, Windom and Worthington, for a 4-4 league record.

Coach Jeremiah Day, who just finished his second season as head coach of the team, saw a lot of improvement from last year and throughout the course of the season.

"I'm happy with how the girls performed this year," said Day. "The season turned out close to what I expected.

"We tightened everything up. We're getting better."

The girls worked at giving themselves chances to win by trying to keep scores close.

The young team he took on last season was not only inexperienced on the ice, but after a string of several successful Storm seasons, the girls didn't know how to handle disappointment.

"I noticed that from last year to this year, they handled it better," said Day. "They didn't get complacent with losing. They were upset, but motivated to change it.

"Their attitude was one of the biggest positive aspects of the season," added Day. "They understand that there is an opportunity for them. The possibilities over the next three years is great.

"They know they have to work at it and that work ethic is there," said Day. "I'm excited to see what the future holds for us."

Next season's team will have a roster full of skaters with two years of varsity experience, including senior captain Morgan DeHaan and junior captain Abby Daly.

For the past two seasons the Storm roster has included only one senior. This year that senior was first-time player, Miranda Day.

"She struggled with first-year skater blues, but she picked it up quickly," said Day. "It's been nice to have seniors for their life experience."

Day won the Hobey Baker High School Character Award. The goal of the award is to develop, recognize, and reward exemplary character and sportsmanship. Each high school coach can nominate one player to receive the award.

Other awards were presented to:  MVP on defense - Abby Daly, MVP on offense - Hanna Lindblad, Hustle Award - Emily Walz, Most Improved - Megan Kirkeide, Spirit Award - Holli Christians, and Coach Award - Kelsey Rajewsky and Kayla Benson.

Front from left:  Nicole Berens, Megan Kirkeide, Kayla Benson, Hanna Lindblad, Holli Christians, Clarissa Blake, Kelsey Rajewsky