Weather Forecast


Gators down T’hawks, host Tri in Morris Tuesday

The Gators were victorious in their home opener Thursday, Aug. 29 at Minnewaska.

The Morris Area/ Minnewaska/Chokio-Alberta/Benson swimmers defeated Montevideo 99-86. The junior varsity won 98-83.

In the 50 freestyle, Kate Folkman finished second in 27.88.  Folkman finished third in the 100 freestyle in 1:02.39.

In the 100 back stroke, Agnes Dieter swam a season-best time of 1:15.10 for first place.

Bridget Weaver took first in the 200 freestyle with a time of 2:19.23 and in the 500 free with a time of 6:22.

Lacey Entzi had a first place in the 200 individual medley with a time of 2:30.68.  Agnes Dieter swam a 2:52.08 for third place in the 200 IM.

Amanda Thompson took first in the 100 butterfly with a 1:17.53.   

The 200 Medley relay team of Megan Thoen, Mason Schlief, Lacey Entzi and Kate Folkman took first with a 2:08.59.

The 200 free relay team of Natasha Nemmers, Amanda Thompson, Bridget Weaver and Lacey Entzi took first in 1:56.59.

In the junior varsity 50 freestyle, Julia Ladner had a :35.66; Danielle Reuss came in at :38.09; Teresa Boyd was at :40.56; Maria Gallegos had a time of :99.51;  Loudes Gallegos clocked a 39.67; Brianna Staton came in at :33.46 and Leah Thorstad had a :36.15.

In the junior varsity 100 freestyle, Abbie McNally came in at 1:18.49, Leah Thorstad had a time of 1:20.28 and Lourdes Gallegos finished at 1:28.14.

In the junior varstiy 500 freestyle, Ashley Homme finished in  7:54.00.

Seven Gators have qualified for sections:

Lacey Entzi in the 200 IM, 100 back and 100 free;  Bridget Weaver in  the 200 and 500 free; Amanda Thompson in the 100 butterfly; Meghan Thoen in the 50 and 100 free and 100 back; Agnes Dieter in the 100 back; Arianna Maras in the 100 back and Mason Schlief in the 100 breastroke.  

In the junior varsity competition, Mariah Anderson earned a first in the 100 backstroke and narrowly missed section cut.

The Gators will host a triangular meet with St. Cloud Cathedral and Roccori on Tuesday, Sept. 10 at the RFC.