Weather Forecast


Football: Eight Owls earn district honors

Eight Hancock football players received recognition from their District 9 West South 2 play this season. Senior quarterback Kaleb Koehl was named co-MVP of the district along with Wyatt Curtis of Rothsay. Other Hancock all-district players included Noah Kannegiesser, Josh Birr, and Montana Molden. Harrison Zeltwanger, Peyton Rohloff, Tyler Timmerman, and Gideon Joos earned honorable mention.

Verndale won the district title with a perfect 8-0 record. Brandon-Evansville and Rothsay both finished 7-1 while Bertha-Hewitt and Hancock were behind them with 5-3 records.

Five of the eight earning all-district recognition for Hancock return to the team in 2018, including all-district player Molden and all four honorable mention players.

Seniors Koehl and Kannegiesser also earned all-section accolades for their play during section games this season, head coach Chad Christianson said.

Brooke Kern

Please send sports story ideas, photo submissions, and comments to Sports photo ordering can be found here:

FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA! Facebook: Stevens County Times | Twitter: @SCTimesSports | Instagram: @SCTimesSports