Weather Forecast


UMAC announces finalists for Scholar-Athlete Leadership Awards

The Upper Midwest Athletic Conference (UMAC) is proud to announce its list of finalists for the annual Scholar-Athlete Leadership Award, which includes six males and six females. The award, which is given to one male and one female student-athlete from UMAC member-institutions, recognizes graduating seniors who demonstrate a healthy balance by achieving excellence in academics, leadership, and service, while participating in intercollegiate athletics.

The finalists for the 2013 UMAC Scholar-Athlete Leadership Awards are:

Derek Peterson, Bethany Lutheran College

Brett Tester, College of St. Scholastica

Joseph Blum, Martin Luther College

Adrian Flores, Northland College

David Knight, Northwestern College

Logan Orazem, University of Minnesota Morris

Taylor Tyllia, College of St. Scholastica

Kelly Anderson, Crown College

Lindsay Hahn, Martin Luther College

Sara Hoge, Northland College

Heidi Anderson, Northwestern College

Kali Cordes, University of Minnesota Morris

The NCAA Division III athlete is unique among intercollegiate athletes because, at Division III institutions, student-athletes receive no financial aid for athletic participation.  Such institutions emphasize the overall quality of the educational experience and the successful completion of the student’s academic program; athletic participation is an important part of that educational experience. Division III provides opportunities for student-athletes to be a part of numerous campus activities in addition to athletics, and these finalists have maximized those opportunities. The UMAC Scholar-Athlete Leadership Award is presented to students who embody what it means to be an NCAA Division III athlete. Through this award, the UMAC recognizes the role athletics plays in developing leaders by rewarding athletes' excellence in the classroom as well as service to the community. The league’s faculty athletic representatives nominate and vote on this honor.

The winners of the scholar-athlete leadership award will be announced during the third week of April. Award recipients are honored on their individual campuses and presented with a customized plaque.