Weather Forecast


Storm advance in Section 6A hockey, travel to Little Falls Tuesday night

Morris Benson Area defeats Prairie Centre 4-1 Saturday in Sauk Centre to advance to the Section 6A quarterfinals.

The No. 9 Storm will now travel to Little Falls Tuesday to take on the No. 1 Flyers.

After a scoreless first period, the Northstars and the Storm traded goals within the first two minutes of the second. Tanner Mikkelson tied it up 1-1.

Later in the second, Tanner Picht gave the Storm a lead they would not relinquish.

The Storm added two insurance goals in the third, just over a minute apart. Brody Gimberlin scored at 4:48 on an assist form Luke Schwarz. Picht netted his second of the game at 6:00 with an assist from Mac Beyer.

The Northstars were charged with two penalties in the third, the only two issued in the game, but managed to hold off the Storm's power-play attempts to add to their lead.

Matt Huot was nearly perfect in the Storm net, stopping 35 shots.

Morris Benson 4

Prairie Centre 1

Morris Benson 0 2 2 -- 4

Prairie Centre 0 1 0 -- 1


SECOND PERIOD - PC: Cody Bartkowicz (Nate Mettenburg, Trent Berscheit) :23; MBA: Tanner Mikkelson 1:50; MBA: Tanner Picht 10:16

THIRD PERIOD - MBA: Brody Gimberlin (Luke Schwarz) 4:48; MBA; Picht (Mac Beyer) 6:00

PENALTIES - Morris Benson Area: 0-0-0 - 0; Prairie Centre: 0-0-2 - 2

SHOTS ON GOAL - Morris Benson Area: 6-9-6 - 21; Prairie Centre: 13-13-10 - 36

GOALIE SAVES - Morris Benson Area: Matt Huot 35; Prairie Centre: Justin Brever 17