Weather Forecast


Cougars claim 49 All-Academic Honors

The University of Minnesota, Morris was honored with 49 Academic All-Conference honorees, as the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference (UMAC) released their Fall All-Academic teams.

Only St. Scholastica was better represented than Morris' 49 honorees, while the Cougars better their total from Fall of last season of 44.

With 13, women's cross country was the Cougar squad to claim the most Academic All-Conference players, also the highest total across the conference in their sport. They also led the Cougars with seven repeat honorees in Alicia Beattie, Gwendorlene Chea, Molly Donovan, Anne Gair, Madeline Gehrig, Christine Hoffman, Cristina Montanez, and Alexandra Myhal.

Their counterparts on the men's side finished with four honorees, each claiming their first certificate.

Football claimed 10 winners, the third best in the conference, behind only St. Scholastic and Greenville. Evan Beranek, Brendon Foss, Josh Hiltner, Justin Irlbeck, and Devon Johnson all made the All-Academic team for the second time.

Cougar women's soccer earned nine winners, with men's soccer gaining eight. Kali Cordes for the women and Greg Borchers for the men each earn Academic All-Conference honors for the third time, the only Cougars to do so. Additionally, Dustin Lee, Leah Parker, and Zach Van Cleve all make it for the second time.

Cougar volleyball rounded out the honorees with five All-Academic players, including Allie and Brita Humphrey as two-time honorees.

Winners must earn a grade point average of at least 3.5 in the semester of their sport, and as a conference the UMAC had 326 total athletes recognized on the Academic All-Conference team. For the third straight year they topped the 300 mark.

Men's Cross Country

Charles Abraham, SO

Bailey Denzer, FR

Daniel Tiernan, FR

Martin Zais, FR

Women's Cross Country

Miranda Aarons, FR

Alicia Beattie, SO

Gwendorlene Chea, FR

Molly Donovan, SO

Anne Gair, SO

Madeline Gehrig, SO

Christine Hoffman, SR

Cristina Montanez, SR

Alexandra Myhal, SO

Katie Oden, FR

Amanda Peters, FR

Heather Rickert, FR

Lanay Walker, FR


Evan Beranek, JR

Colter Combellick, SO

Brendon Foss, SO

Andrew Heickley, FR

Josh Hiltner, SR

Justin Irlbeck, SO

Devon Johnson, SR

Reed Moore, FR

Geoffrey Schumacher, FR

Anthony White, SO

Men's Soccer

Jacob Borash, FR

Greg Borchers, SR

David Donatucci, FR

John Hastings, FR

Dustin Lee, SO

Sean Stetson, SO

Zach Van Cleve,  JR

Paul Youngblom, FR

Women's Soccer

Rachel Berns, FR

Kali Cordes, SR

Annie Hawkinson, JR

Kristina Hernandez, FR

Kara Kampa, FR

Kelsi Kolle, FR

Christina Mollan, FR

Leah Parker, SR

Crystal Zastrow, SR


Allie Humphrey, JR

Brita Humphrey, JR

Emily Auch, FR

Hannah Terhaaummr, FR

Addie Vancura, FR