Weather Forecast


Tim Grove named UMAC coach of the year

All eight Upper Midwest Athletic Conference (UMAC) institutions were represented in the conference's women's basketball postseason awards. The University of Minnesota, Morris, who won the UMAC regular-season championship for the second consecutive year, boasted four individuals amongst the first, second, and honorable mention teams.

Northland College followed with three representatives on the all-conference lists.

The five individuals to make up the UMAC All-Conference First Team were UMM's Steph Roggenbuck, Bethany Lutheran College's Jessica Englund, Martin Luther College's Erica Babinec, Northwestern College's Katie DeWitt, and Presentation College's Nicky Rausch. Babinec, DeWitt and Roggenbuck are all repeat first-teamers, having been named to the UMAC's top five players last season.

Roggenbuck was chosen as the UMAC Player of the Year after a standout senior season. The third-year Cougar averaged 18.6 points and 7.3 rebounds per conference game, while making just under 53 percent of her field goal attempts. The 5-11 forward can shoot too, as evidenced by her 44 percent mark from behind the three-point line. Roggenbuck's coach, Tim Grove, was named the conference's coach of the year for the second straight season after the Cougars went undefeated in UMAC play with a 14-0 record. In the last two years, Morris has gone 27-1 in league games.

The College of St. Scholastica's Kayla Heisler and Northwestern's Mollie Sir were named the UMAC Co-Freshmen of the Year. Both players averaged 10 points per game or more in UMAC affairs, while being two of the conference's best three-point shooters.

Following UMM and Northland's four and three individual awards was Bethany Lutheran College, St. Scholastica, Martin Luther and Northwestern, who each had two accolades.

In addition to the all-conference awards, the UMAC also announced its all-defensive team. Minnesota-Morris' Jenni Noordmans, Bethany Lutheran's Nicole Jones, St. Scholastica's Laura Amys, Martin Luther's Babinec, and Presentation's Rausch were recognized by the league's coaches as the best defensive players in the conference.