Weather Forecast


Tigers swim at Montevideo

The Morris Area boys' swimming and diving team traveled to Montevideo Thursday where the Thunder Hawks used their numbers to outscore the Tigers 102-59.

The junior varsity score was 90-22 in favor of Montevideo.

"The Thunder Hawks had almost three times as many athletes making it an easy win for them," said Tiger coach Megan Lange.

"The Tigers swam hard to improve their times," Lange added.

There were several boys who improved, including Roy Reese and Gage Anderson in the 200 Free; Sawyer Marthaler and Taylor Hufford in the 50 Free; Anderson in the 100 Fly; Hufford, Matt Lembcke and Reese in the 100 Free; Matt Athey, Vaughn Dieter, and Peter Ericksen in the 100 Backstroke; and Mitch Kill and Travis Mithun in the 100 Breast stroke.

The 200 medley relay team of Vaughn Dieter, Mitchell Kill, Gage Anderson, and Travis Mithun placed third in 2:06.48.

Roy Reese won the 200 freestyle with a time of 2:01.95. He was followed by Anderson in fifth place in 2:17.58 and Dieter in sixth in 2:37.68.

Three Tigers placed in the 50 freestyle with Matt Lembcke in fourth with a 30.09, Kill in fifth with 31.15, and Taylor Hufford in sixth with 32.46.

Mithun finished fourth in the diving competition with a score of 118.75. Chris Tiernan placed fifth with a 102.55.

Anderson took third in the 100 butterfly with a time of 1:10.79.

Reese placed second in the 100 freestyle with a 54.97. He was followed by Lembcke in fifth with 1:08.37 and Brandon Pry in sixth with 1:10.15.

The 200 freestyle relay team of Reese, Kill, Lembcke, and Pry placed second with a time of 1:59.00.

Dieter won the 100 backstroke with a time of 1:16.73. Peter Ericksen placed second with a 1:29.23.

Kill won the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:20.45. Mithun placed second in 1:26.61.

In the 400 freestyle relay, the A team of Anderson, Dieter, Mithun, and Reese took first place with a time of 4:11.02 and the B team of Jacob Johnson, Hufford, Ericksen, and Lembcke finished second in 5:11.02.

Junior Varsity

Sawyer Marthaler placed first in the 50 freestyle with a time of 29.22. Jacob Johnson was fourth in 34.18 and Matt Athey was sixth in 59.72.

Hufford placed second in the 100 freestyle with a 1:16.43, while Mike Rausch finished fifth in 1:25.29.

The 200 freestyle relay team of Chris Tiernan, Ericksen, Rausch, and Johnson placed fourth with a time of 2:28.46.

Athey placed fourth in the 100 backstroke with a 2:34.31.

Rausch won the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:49.50.