Weather Forecast


West Central Conference may be losing four teams

With travel costs becoming too much for schools, four teams from the West Central Conference are looking to leave.

Foley, Milaca, Mora and St. Cloud Cathedral are ready to leave the North portion of the WCC and join Becker, Little Falls, Princeton and Zimmerman to form a new conference. In order for the new league to be formed all eight schools have to have their board of directors agree on the proposal.

Foley, Milaca, Mora and St. Cloud Cathedral have already voted to join the new conference, while Becker, Little Falls, Princeton and Zimmerman will make their decisions early next week. If the measure is approved by all eight schools the new conference could start as soon as the next school year.

The move would drop the number of schools in the West Central Conference from 18 to 14. Currently the North consists of Albany, Foley, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle, Milaca, Mora, Melrose, New London-Spicer, St. Cloud Cathedral and Sauk Centre. Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City, Benson, BOLD, Lac qui Parle Valley, Minnewaska, Montevideo, Morris, Paynesville and Yellow Medicine East are in the South.

LQPV and Mora are nearly 170 miles apart.

Another reason for the possible change of scenery for the four schools is the enrollment. After New London-Spicer, Milaca (505 students in grades 9-12), St. Cloud Cathedral (504), Mora (493) and Foley (446) have the biggest enrollment amongst the 18 WCC schools. ACGC with 194 students has the lowest enrollment.

The average WCC enrollment is 373 students. Becker (750), Little Falls (758), Princeton (977) and Zimmerman (511) have comparable enrollments for equal competition.