Weather Forecast


Witt named to NABC All-District team

Former Morris Area star Taylor Witt is shown during a NCAA Division II Central Region victory over Metro State. On Tuesday, Witt scored 16 points in an overtime victory over Augustana that sends the Huskies to the Elite Eight for the second time in school history. Photo courtesy SportsPix.

St. Cloud State junior guard Taylor Witt of Morris and senior center Matt Schneck of Whitefish Bay, Wis. have been named to the 2010 NABC Division II Central Region All-District team by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NSBC).

Schneck and Witt were named to the six-member First Team. This is the second year that Witt has been honored by the NABC as he was a 2009 Second Team member. This is the first NABC honor for Schneck.

Witt averages 15.9 points a game and leads the team in assists with 161. He was named to the All-NSIC First Team and the NSIC/Sanford Health All-Tournament team.

Schneck is the Huskies leading scorer and rebounder as he averages 18.3 points and 11.1 rebounds in 2009-10. Schneck has had an outstanding senior season. On March 16, he was named the MVP of the Central Region Tournament following an 84-75 win over Augustana College that sent St. Cloud State to the Elite Eight in Springfield, Mass. A week earlier he was voted the Outstanding Player of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) tournament. He was named the Player of the Year in the NSIC on March 4 and is a 2010 Daktronics First Team All-Region selection.

The 88 student-athletes, from eight districts, are now eligible for the State Farm Coaches Division II All-America teams, selected by the NABC. Joining Witt and Schneckon the Central Region first team are Travis Nelson and Jefferson Mason of Minnesota State.

St. Cloud State is preparing for its second ever NCAA Division II Elite Eight Tournament appearance, March 24, 25 and 27 in Springfield, Mass. The Central Region Champion Huskies (28-5) will face South Central Region Champion Midwestern State University (31-2) in the first game of the quarterfinals on Wed., March 24 at 11:00 a.m. central time in the Mass Mutual Center.