Weather Forecast


Nine Cougars on All-UMAC squad

Nine University of Minnesota, Morris football players were named to the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference team for the 2009 season.

Senior offensive lineman Theo Powell, and sophomore defensive end Mitch Zimmer, led the pack of Cougars. It was Powell and Zimmer's second straight appearance on the UMAC first team, joined this year by defensive back Nate Lund, who led the Cougars with 80 tackles and three interceptions this season.

Senior tight end Brady Rose was a second-team selection, hauling in 47 receptions, nine of those for touchdowns. Running back Robert Koranda earned his second straight all-UMAC nod for 627 rushing yards and 15 receptions.

Senior defensive lineman Matt Howell and junior linebacker Adam Gertken (74 tackles) were named to the second-team for anchoring the middle of the Cougar defense this season.

Junior newcomers John Russow and Josh Ledin round out the list. Russow, named for his special teams play, led UMM with 937 all-purpose yards this season. At linebacker, Ledin recorded seven tackles for lost yardage as well as two sacks.

The Cougars finished the 2009 season 4-6.