Weather Forecast


Cougar women win golf championship

The University of Minnesota, Morris' women's golf team won the 2009 Upper Midwest Athletic Conference championship. Paced by three all-conference players, the Cougars finished 16 strokes ahead of second place Northwestern College, at the Alexandria Golf Club Oct. 2-3.

The men's team finished in fourth place, passing Martin Luther College on day two. Two Cougars earned all-conference honors by virtue of a top-five finish. North Central University won the men's team title.

The Cougar women and North Central University men battled through rain, wind and cold weather all weekend to emerge victorious. 

Both teams held at least a share of the lead after competition on Day 1 and never looked back.  North Central, who entered Saturday's final round tied for the lead with Bethany Lutheran College after a 331 on Friday, bested the VIkings' team score by four strokes on Day 2 to shoot a 331-312-643.  Even though the Rams didn't have any players in the tournament's top five places, North Central occupied spots Nos. 7, 8, 10 and 11 on the final scoresheet.  The Morris women's team was the opposite, as three Cougars made a name for themselves in the Top 5.

Northwestern College boasted both genders' medalists, as Nick Olson carded a two-day score of 79-76-155 on the men's side while Kristina Siemen's wrapped up her weekend with a 90-92-182.  Both medalists had opponents who finished within just a stroke of their winning score.

In the team competition, Bethany Lutheran's men's squad finished with a 331-316-647 to take second, while Northwestern left Alexandria with a 337-320-657 third place. 

On the women's side, Northwestern came into the clubhouse 28 strokes behind Morris with a 419-411-830.  Presentation College's 458-451-909 was good for third place.

Women's Individual Scores

Top 5 are All-Conference

Kristina Siemens (NWC) 182

Ashley Watson (UMM) 183

Abigail Lecy (BLC) 185

Caitlin Hanson (UMM) 187

Julie Althoff (UMM) 201

Other UMM Finishers

Deidre Konold (UMM) 231

Lianna Sanders (UMM) 261

Men's Individual Scores

Top 5 are All-Conference

Nick Olson (NWC) 155

Joe Baer (BLC) 156

Derek Dionne (UMM) 157

Isaac Crass (MLC) 158

Mitch Koepp (BLC) 159

David Katz (UMM) 159

Other UMM Finishers

Dane Kelly (UMM) 170

Kyle Michel (UMM) 180

Josh Nyquist (UMM) 185