Weather Forecast


UPDATE Local Election 2010: Ennen, Gausman win county seats

Jeanne Ennen and Phil Gausman won seats on the Stevens County Board of Commissioners, the Morris City Council will remain in its current makeup and the Morris Area School District levy was approved by a signicant margin in Tuesday's mid-term elections.

State incumbents Bill Ingebrigtsen and Torrey Westrom won handily and the Morris Area School Board will return with three familiar faces.

Minnesota 7th District Congressman Collin Peterson also was reelected over Republican challenger Lee Byberg.

When the results from all 26 Stevens County precincts were reported early Wednesday, Gausman defeated Roger McCannon by taking about 60 percent of the vote for the District 5 county board seat being vacated by retiring Commissioner Don Munsterman. Jeanne Ennen collected about 55 percent of the vote over Steve Storck for the District 2 seat being vacated by retiring Commissioner Herb Kloos.

Morris Area School Board incumbents Kurt Gartland and Lory Lemke were among the top three vote-getters for three open seats, and Laura Carrington, who -- kind of -- retired from the board two years ago, won election to another four-year term.

Carrington served on the School Board for eight years before choosing to not run in 2008. However, she was off the board just a few months before agreeing to serve 14 months in an interim role while board member Brent Fuhrman served in the military overseas.

The district's operating levy referendum, which continues an expiring levy and adds to it for a total of $500, was approved by a 60 percent to 40 percent margin.

In the Morris city races, incumbents Jeff Miller and Twig Webster easily won reelection, with first-time candidate Rachael Rendon finishing third. Incumbent Mayor Sheldon Giese won 71 percent of the vote over first-time candidate Sheila Hemming.

District 11 DFL challenger Jim Thoreen, of Morris, and District 11A House candidate Bennett Smith, of Donnelly, ran well in their county but finished well behind incumbent Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen, a Republican from Alexandria, and Rep. Torrey Westrom, a Republican from Elbow Lake, in the district-wide race.

In other races:

*Joel Flaten, Rodney Peterson and Tim Schaefer earned seats on the Hancock School Board;

*Jeff Pring, Robin Anderson and Christy Hubbard were elected to three open seats on the Cyrus School Board;

*In the Chokio-Alberta School Board race, Brian Sletten and Mark Gibson won election, and there were 274 write-in votes cast for the third open seat on the board;

*In Hancock, Bruce Schmidgall won election as mayor and Bruce Malo and Jeff Kisgen won two open City Council seats;

*In Alberta, Glen Tomoson was elected mayor and Jerry Sullivan and Margaret Kearnes won City Council seats;

*In Chokio, Roger Gerdes was elected mayor and Ronald Draper and Dallas Pillen will fill two open City Council seats;

*In Donnelly, Walter Biesterfeld was elected mayor and Rose Athey and Zach Eystad were elected to two City Council seats.

See the Sun Tribune Web site's 2010 Election Watch for results, and see the attached Photo Gallery for some scenes from Election Day 2010.