Weather Forecast


Minnesota primary election Tuesday, Aug. 14

MORRIS - Minnesota's primary election is this Tuesday, Aug. 14, and residents of Stevens County will have the chance to vote three primary races - U.S. senator, and chief justice and associate justice for the Minnesota Supreme Court.

There will be no primary elections for the three seats on the Stevens County Board of Commissioners or open seats as Soil and Water Supervisor.

City of Morris and Morris Area School District elections are not subject to primaries. The filing period for City Council and School Board seats is July 31 to Aug. 14.

Here is a list of polling places for county townships and cities, followed by information about voter registration and absentee voting. To find your polling place, visit

The cities of Morris, Hancock, Alberta, Donnelly, and Chokio voting hours are 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. All township voting hours are 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

More information about voter registration can be found online at

Voter Registration

In Minnesota, you may register to vote at last 21 days prior to an election or on election day at your polling place. You will have to re-register if you haven't voted in four years, if you move (even if you are in the same precinct), and/or if you change your name.

To be eligible to register on election day you must:

• be at least 18-years-old on Election Day

• be a citizen of the United States

• have resided in Minnesota for 20 days immediately preceding Election Day

• have any felony conviction record discharged, expired, or completed

• not be under court-ordered guardianship where a court has revoked your voting rights

• have not been ruled legally incompetent by a court of law.

To register you will need to provide proof of residence. You must bring one of the following items with your current name and address to verify your residence in the precinct:

• A valid Minnesota driver's license, learner's permit, Minnesota ID card, or receipt for any of these

• A valid student ID card including your photo, if your college has provided a student housing list to election officials

• A Tribal ID card that contains your picture and signature 

• A valid registration in the same precinct under a different name or address 

• A notice of late registration sent to you by your county auditor or city clerk

• A voter registered in the same precinct as you who can confirm your address with a signed oath

• An employee of the residential facility where you live who can confirm your address with a signed oath

• Both 1) a photo ID from the list below, and 2) a current bill from the list below with your current name and address in the precinct

Township/City Name and Polling Place

Alberta - Alberta City Hall

Pepperton - Alberta City Hall

Scott - Alberta City Hall

Synnes - Alberta City Hall

Baker - St. Mary's Hall-Chokio

Chokio - St. Mary's Hall-Chokio

Everglade - St. Mary's Hall-Chokio

Stevens - St. Mary's Hall-Chokio

Darnen - Morris American Legion-Backroom

Horton - Morris American Legion-Backroom

Donnelly - Donnelly City Hall

Donnelly Twp. - Donnelly City Hall

Eldorado - Donnelly City Hall

Rendsville - Donnelly City Hall

Swan Lake - Swan Lake Town Hall

Framnas - USDA Soils Lab

Morris Twp. - USDA Soils Lab

Hodges - Hancock Community Center

Moore - Hancock Community Center

Hancock - Hancock Community Center

Morris 1A - Morris American Legion

Morris 1B - Morris Evangelical Free Church

Morris 2A - Morris Senior Center

Morris 2B - UMM - Oyate Hall

Morris 3A - Federated Church

Morris 3B - Zion Lutheran Church