Weather Forecast


UPDATE: City, school election slates set

The Morris Area School Board race has six candidates and the City of Morris slate reached five as the filing period for November's general election closed Tuesday, Aug. 17.

A candidate who filed for both a city and school board seat withdrew from the school board election but will seek a City Council seat.

School Board incumbents Kurt Gartland and Lory Lemke have filed for seats on the seven-person board, along with challengers Laura Carrington, Troy Goodnough, Marshall Hoffman and Mike Odello. Incumbent Mark McNally did not file for reelection.

Incumbent Mayor Sheldon Giese will be challenged by Sheila Hemming, and incumbent City Council members Jeff Miller and Twig Webster also filed. Rachael Rendon will challenge Miller and Webster for two council seats. Rendon also filed for a school board seat but was not allowed to file in both elections. The mayor and four council members comprise the five-person City Council.

The general election is Tuesday, Nov. 2.

The Stevens County Board of Commissioners, Minnesota District 11 and 7th Congressional District election slates also are set following last week's primary election.

In Stevens County District 5, Phil Gausman and Roger McCannon were the top vote-getters and will be running to succeed Don Munsterman, who is not seeking reelection.

In the county's District 2 face, Jeanne Ennen and Steven Storck are the candidates to succeed Herb Kloos, who also is not seeking reelection.

In the Minnesota House District 11A race, incumbent Republican Torrey Westrom has filed for reelection. He will be challenged by DFL candidate Bennett Smith. In the Minnesota Senate District 11 race, incumbent Republican Bill Ingebrigtsen will be challenged by DFLer Jim Thoreen.

7th District Congressman Collin Peterson is seeking reelection and will be challenged by Republican Lee Byberg.