Weather Forecast


University of Minnesota, Morris faculty and staff recognition dinner held

Front row left to right: Rosa Kill, Lou Logan, Anne Hansen, Marge Kleinhans, and Lois Kunde Middle row left to right: Paula O'Loughlin, Margaret Kuchenreuther, Tom Turner, Jeanne Richards, Jody Huntley, Al Seifermann, and Jenny Nellis Back row left to right: Nancy Helsper, Jayne Blodgett, David Jones, David Aronson, Richard Jean Richards, Jenny Quam, Mick Rose, and David Mayo

Morris, Minn.-- The annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Dinner was held on Tuesday, May 1, 2012. The event provides the campus an opportunity to congratulate 2012 award recipients and thank faculty and staff retirees for their service to the Morris campus. Chancellor Jacqueline Johnson hosts the event.

Fifteen retirees were honored: David Aronson, departmental director, Plant Services, Dorothy De Jager, executive assistant, Office of the Registrar, Anne Hansen, food service worker, Bill Hennen, building and grounds worker, Plant Services, Harold Hinds, professor emeritus of history, Jody Huntley, executive operations/student systems specialist, Welcome Center, David Jones, senior production supervisor, Duplicating Services, Rosa Kill, building and grounds worker, Plant Services, Lois Kunde, senior food service worker, Lou Logan, principal student personnel worker, Office of Financial Aid, Jeanne Richards, teaching specialist of music, Richard Jean Richards, associate professor of music, Al Seifermann, cook, Dining Services, and Thomas C. Turner, professor emeritus of Spanish.

Faculty award recipients were also celebrated. Jenny Nellis, professor emeritus of studio art, and Paula O'Loughlin, professor of political science received the University of Minnesota President's Outstanding Service Award. Margaret Kuchenreuther, associate professor of biology is a recipient of the University of Minnesota Oustanding Community Service Award, and Ted Pappenfus, associate professor of chemistry received the University of Minnesota, Morris Distinguished Research Award. Jennifer Deane, associate professor of history, is the University of Minnesota, Morris Alumni Association Teaching Award recipient.

Each year, the Mary Martelle Award is given to a staff member and a student to recognize contributions and commitment to the campus community--qualities exhibited by the late senior secretary in the Office of Student Activities. This year's recipients are Nancy Helsper, executive assistant, Academic Affairs, and Manjari Govada '12, Shakopee.

Three members of the campus community received Outstanding Staff Awards: Jenny Quam, executive office and administrative specialist, Human Resources, AFSCME, Mick Rose, maintenance operations supervisor, Plant Services, Civil Service, and David Mayo, maintenance electrician, Plant Services, Teamsters.

Jayne Blodgett, assistant librarian at Briggs Library, received the Academic Staff Award.