Weather Forecast


Center for Small Town awarded almost $92,000 by Bremer

Receiving the Otto Bremer Foundation check on behalf of the Center for Small Towns is, from left, David Fluegel,Community Program Specialist; Bart Finzel, Interim Director of the Center for Small Towns. Representing Bremer Bank are Holly Witt, Nonprofit Resource Specialist and Jan Hagen, Morris and Starbuck Branch Manager.

The Center for Small Towns at the University of Minnesota, Morris was awarded $91,887 by the Otto Bremer Foundation for general operations.

The foundation is the majority owner of Bremer Bank. Jan Hagen, Bremer Bank's Morris and Starbuck Branch Manager, and Holly Witt, Nonprofit Resource Specialist, presented the award to Bart Finzel,

Interim Director of the Center for Small Towns, and David Fluegel, Community Program Specialist.

"The Otto Bremer Foundation and Bremer Bank are committed to building healthy communities in Stevens County," Hagen said. "It's gratifying that our owner and partner, the Otto Bremer Foundation, has offered its backing to these great organizations, all of which provide critical services to support the overall health of our community."

Bank clients are ultimately responsible for making the awards available since a portion of bank profits are used to make grants in communities like Morris through the foundation, Hagen said.

The Center for Small Towns is a community outreach program of the UMM.