Weather Forecast


Morris Area board honored during School Board Recognition Week

The members of the Morris Area School Board are, in front from left, Stan Wulf, Lory Lemke and Kurt Gartland. In back from left are Dick Metzger, Jamie Solvie, Laura Carrington and Brent Fuhrman.

Minnesota School Board Recognition Week is Feb. 21-25.

The week is a time to honor the elected officials who serve to build awareness of what the boards do in their communities to strengthen education.

"It takes strong schools to build a strong community, and our board member devote many hours to making sure our schools are helping every student learn and achieve at a high level," said Morris Area Superintendent Scott Monson. "They make tough decisions every month and spend hours becoming informed about a education issues in order to provide the kind of accountability our citizens expect."

In the Morris Area School District, the board includes Laura Carrington, Brent Fuhrman, Kurt Gartland, Lory Lemke, Dick Metzger, Jamie Solvie and Stan Wulf.

Monson said the key work of school boards is to raise student achievement by:

•Creating a vision for what the community wants the school district to be and for making student achievement the top priority;

•Establishing standards for what students will be expected to learn and be able to do;

•Ensuring progress is measured to be sure the district's goals are achieved and students are learning at expected levels;

•Being accountable for their decisions and actions;

•Creating a safe, orderly climate where students can learn and teachers can teach;

•Forming partnerships with others in the community to solve common problems; and

•Focusing attention on the need for continuous improvement by questioning, refining and revising issues related to student achievement.