Weather Forecast


63 students earn blue ribbons in MAHS Science Fair

Receiving blue ribbons this year were (front row, left to right) Jason Rinkenberger, Bryce Jergenson, Adrianela Mendez, Kjersa Anderson, Kayla Lesmeister, Emily Moser, Angie Fehr, Megan Gillespie, Melanie Van Horn, (second row) Jordan Thooft, Brady Wulf, Gage Backman, Aaron Nelson, Kevin Meixel, April Jyrkas, Mr. Tim Cannon, Mr. Kevin Pope, (third row) Karle Meyer, Vaughn Dieter, Brianna Abril, Paige Schieler, Beth Holland, Justine Huebner, Andrew Mahoney, Aaron Jones, Trenton Nelson, Taylor Staples, Ste...

The 2011 Morris Area Science Fair was held on Wednesday and Thursday, Jan. 12 and 13, in the school gym. Projects were displayed involving all of the seventh and ninth grade science students.

A large number of projects were selected to receive blue ribbons, and these students are strongly encouraged to advance to the Regional Science Fair, Saturday, Feb. 26 at St. Cloud State University; however, all students are eligible to advance.

"It is important to recognize that no science fair can be successful without the dedication of volunteers who are willing to interview students and evaluate their work," said science teacher Tim Cannon. "We are truly blessed to live in a community where we have a wealth of scientific experts.

"Next, we are even more fortunate that businesses and individuals are willing to share this expertise with our educational system," added Cannon.

The judges for 2011 were Jarrod Felton and Paul Sauder from Superior Industries, Judy Johnston and Shaun McNally from Stevens County Soil and Water Conservation District; Gordon McIntosh and Michael Korth from UMM; George Nelson, Cory Marquart, and Eric Buchanon from West Central Research and Outreach Center (Experiment Station); Russ Gesch from the Morris USDA Soils Laboratory; Stacy Salvevold, Styron Bell, Wayne Henderson, and Mark Fondriest from US Fish and Wildlife; as well as Ruth Roquitte and Tom Dosdall who are community members not associated with a particular organization.

"We greatly appreciate their willingness to share their expertise with our students," said Cannon. "If you get the opportunity, thank the individuals and organizations for helping us shape the minds of the future leaders of this country."