Weather Forecast


Morris Area School district levy question approved, incumbents re-elected

Voters in the Morris Area School District renewed the $302 levy which was set to expire this year and agreed to increase it by about $198 per pupil.

In unofficial results from the Minnesota Secretary of State's office, the levy passed with 1,749 'yes' votes, or 59 percent of the vote, to 1,193 'no' votes, or 40 percent of the total.

There were three seats on the school board up for election. Incumbent Lory Lemke was the top vote-getter with 1,650 votes, followed by incumbent Kurt Gartland with 1,616 votes. Former school board member Laura Carrington was elected to the third open seat with 1,262 votes.

Troy Goodnough followed Carrington with 1,190 votes, Mike Odello had 912 votes and Marshall Hoffman received 601 votes.