Weather Forecast


Boettcher, Cannon candidates for state's top teacher honor

Morris Area Teachers of the Year Lori Boettcher and Tim Cannon are among 106 candidates for Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

The teachers have accepted their nominations and completed the required candidate materials to become eligible for the honor of 2010 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

Boettcher and Cannon were named Morris Area's Teachers of the Year in November 2009.

This year's program will name the 46th Minnesota Teacher of the Year, celebrating the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers, from public or private schools.

The 2010 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced Sunday, May 2, at The Northland Inn in Brooklyn Park. Over the coming weeks, a 22-member panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists, and then finalists.

Other candidates for 2010 Minnesota Teacher of the Year in West Central Minnesota are: Tracey Raguse, Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley; Tyrone Hanson, Herman-Norcross; Richard Halterman, Montevideo; Jill Marie Wright, Wheaton.