Weather Forecast


UMM's 4th annual Community of Scholars event Feb. 5-6

The University of Minnesota, Morris will welcome approximately 200 students and their families to campus on Feb. 5-6, 2010, for the 4th Annual Community of Scholars event. The students invited have already been offered admission and will be competing for the Morris campus's most prestigious competitive scholarships, the Prairie Scholars Award and the Morris Scholars Award.

Students from Minnesota, Wisconsin, the Dakotas and Illinois, as well as those from Texas, Colorado, Maryland, Rhode Island, and Arizona have been invited to the event. In addition to vying for a top scholarship, the event will provide the candidates with opportunities to connect with other scholarship finalists, to interact with current students, to engage with faculty and staff, and to experience the University of Minnesota, Morris campus in-depth. Tours of the Morris community are also planned for students and their families.

The Prairie Scholars Award is awarded based on an exemplary academic and leadership record. The award is a full-tuition scholarship and is renewable for four years with a total value of more than $32,000.

The Morris Scholars Award is awarded based on an outstanding academic and leadership record. Recipients of the Morris Scholars Award will receive a $5,000 per year scholarship, renewable for four-years, for a total value of $20,000. In addition, the Morris Scholars Award carries a one-time $2,500 scholarly stipend that may be used during the second, third or fourth year at UMM to engage in an eligible scholarly experience (e.g., to study abroad, to participate in research or artistic projects or for travel to academic conferences).

For more information about scholarships at Morris, visit or call the Office of Admissions, 888-866-3382 or 320-589-6035.