Weather Forecast


"Unusual/Creative Paper Art Exhibit" call for artists

FERGUS FALLS, MN, December 6, 2012 - Lake Region Arts Council is extending a 'call for artists' for an "Unusual/Creative Paper Art Exhibit" in the LRAC/McKnight Gallery. The show is intended to challenge regional artists as they utilize paper as an medium. The juried exhibit begins April 1, 2013 through July 5, 2013.

Artists may submit their application on-line at by January 5, 2013. For the work to be considered, the image of the art work must be submitted electronically with the on-line entry application.

In this exhibit, LRAC will be challenging area artists to see how far they can stretch their artistic abilities when using paper as their medium. Art selected for this exhibit will show the extremes of imagination and creativity in the use of paper in all its varied forms. Artists should think beyond normal collages, paper folding or papier-mâché. Here are a few examples of extreme paper art to serve as a guide:

All LRAC/McKnight juried exhibits will feature original works from artists 18 years and older, residing in Becker, Clay, Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Traverse and Wilkin County, and sister cities of Wahpeton and Fargo.

Important Dates to remember:

Application deadline is Jan. 5, 2013

Exhibit Dates are April 1 through July 5, 2013

Artists, their guests, and the public are invited to attend a reception for the artists, April 16, 2013, from 5 to 6:30 pm at the LRAC/McKnight Gallery.

LRAC/McKnight Gallery is located in the historic River Inn, 133 South Mill Street in Fergus Falls.

For more information:

Call the LRAC office (toll free in MN) at

800-262-2787 or 218-739-5780 or

Email at

The Lake Region Arts Council is a nonprofit organization dedicated to encourage and support the vitality of the arts. The LRAC accomplishes this through providing grants to community organizations and individual artists in the region; and providing a monthly ArtsNews letter, workshops, and technical assistance. LRAC serves the counties of Becker, Clay, Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin in west central Minnesota.