Weather Forecast


Kopitzke, Staples, Wohlers win in Stevens County Commissioner races

MORRIS -- Bob Kopitzke, Ron Staples, and Donny Wohlers were elected to serve as Stevens County Commissioners by area voters in close races.

According to the unofficial election results, Kopitzke beat incumbent Paul Watzke 436 votes to 425 votes in District 1.

In District 3, incumbent Staples beat challenger Jim Swenson 548 votes to 433 votes.

In the race for an open seat in District 4, Wohlers beat challenger Diane Nelson 559 votes to 523 votes.

According to Stevens County Auditor/Treasurer Neil Wiese, none of the races are close enough to trigger an automatic recount.

To see unofficial results on the Minnesota Secretary of State's website, visit

District 1

-- Paul Watzke: 425

-- Bob Kopitzke: 436

District 3

-- Ron Staples: 548

-- Jim Swenson: 433

District 4

-- Diane K. Nelson: 523

-- Donny Wohlers: 559