Weather Forecast


Get out the vote Tuesday, Nov. 6 for general election

1 / 2
2 / 2

MORRIS - Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 6, and Stevens County residents will have the chance to cast their votes in many national, state, and local races.

Here are the Minnesota candidates up for election on Tuesday:

• In the U.S. Senate, incumbent Democrat Amy Klobuchar is being challenged by Republican Kurt Bills.

• In the 7th Congressional District, incumbent Democrat Collin Peterson faces a second challenge from Republican Lee Byberg.

• In the new Minnesota Senate District 12, Republican Torrey Westrom and Democrat John Schultz are vying for an open seat.

• In new Minnesota House District 12A, Republican Scott Dutcher, Democrat Jay McNamar, and Independence Party candidate Dave Holman are all seeking the seat.

• There are three races for positions on the Stevens County Board of Commissioners. In District 1, incumbent Paul Watzke is being challenged by Bob Kopitzke. In District 3, incumbent Ron Staples is being challenged by Jim Swenson. And two newcomers, Diane Nelson and Donny Wohlers, are competing for an open seat in District 4.

• Three candidates are running to fill the remaining two years on an open city council term: Joshua Gladis, James Henricks, and Brian Solvie.

• Three candidates are seeking to fill two four-year terms on the Morris City Council: incumbent Bill Storck and challengers Kevin Wohlers and Kara Splitstoser-Robertson.

• The race for four seats on the Morris Area School Board is between five candidates: incumbents Stan Wulf, Dick Metzger, Brent Fuhrman, and James Solvie and challenger Mike Odello.

• Minnesota voters will also consider two proposed changes to the state constitution. More information about the constitutional amendments can be found online at

At the bottom of this story is a list of polling places for county townships and cities. Voters can visit to check their polling place, track an absentee ballot, and see which candidates will be on their ballots.

The Stevens County Auditor/Treasurer's office will be open for absentee voting on Saturday, Nov. 3 from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. and Monday, Nov. 5 until 5:00 p.m. Voters with questions about the election can contact the Auditor/Treasurer at (320) 208-6570.

In the cities of Morris, Hancock, Alberta, Donnelly, and Chokio, voting hours are 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. All township voting hours are 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Voter Registration

In Minnesota, you may register to vote at last 21 days prior to an election or on election day at your polling place. You will have to re-register if you haven't voted in four years, if you move (even if you are in the same precinct), and/or if you change your name.

To be eligible to register on election day you must:

• be at least 18-years-old on Election Day

• be a citizen of the United States

• have resided in Minnesota for 20 days immediately preceding Election Day

• have any felony conviction record discharged, expired, or completed

• not be under court-ordered guardianship where a court has revoked your voting rights

• have not been ruled legally incompetent by a court of law.

To register you will need to provide proof of residence. You must bring one of the following items with your current name and address to verify your residence in the precinct:

• A valid Minnesota driver's license, learner's permit, Minnesota ID card, or receipt for any of these

• A valid student ID card including your photo, if your college has provided a student housing list to election officials

• A Tribal ID card that contains your picture and signature 

• A valid registration in the same precinct under a different name or address 

• A notice of late registration sent to you by your county auditor or city clerk

• A voter registered in the same precinct as you who can confirm your address with a signed oath

• An employee of the residential facility where you live who can confirm your address with a signed oath

• Both 1) a photo ID and 2) a current bill with your current name and address in the precinct.

For more information about voting, candidates, or the election, visit our website at

Township/City Name and Polling Place

Alberta - Alberta City Hall

Pepperton - Alberta City Hall

Scott - Alberta City Hall

Synnes - Alberta City Hall

Baker - St. Mary's Hall-Chokio

Chokio - St. Mary's Hall-Chokio

Everglade - St. Mary's Hall-Chokio

Stevens - St. Mary's Hall-Chokio

Darnen - Morris American Legion-Backroom

Horton - Morris American Legion-Backroom

Donnelly - Donnelly City Hall

Donnelly Twp. - Donnelly City Hall

Eldorado - Donnelly City Hall

Rendsville - Donnelly City Hall

Swan Lake - Swan Lake Town Hall

Framnas - USDA Soils Lab

Morris Twp. - USDA Soils Lab

Hodges - Hancock Community Center

Moore - Hancock Community Center

Hancock - Hancock Community Center

Morris 1A - Morris American Legion

Morris 1B - Morris Evangelical Free Church

Morris 2A - Morris Senior Center

Morris 2B - UMM - Oyate Hall

Morris 3A - Federated Church

Morris 3B - Zion Lutheran Church