Weather Forecast


Candiate filing opens May 22, Sayre announces he will not seek reelection

MORRIS, Minn. - The filing period for national, state and county elections begins Tuesday, May 22 at 8 a.m. and ends Tuesday, June 5 at 5 p.m. The Minnesota primary election is Tuesday, Aug. 14.

Voters in the Stevens County area will have the chance to vote in a new state senator in District 12 and a new state representative in District 12A.

Local Republicans have endorsed current State Representative Torrey Westrom in the District 12 Senate race and Brandon City Council member Scott Dutcher for District 12A

The DFL has endorsed John Schultz of Correll for the senate race, and Elbow Lake Mayor Jay McNamar for the open seat in District 12A.

There are also three local county commissioners who will complete their terms this year: Paul Watzke (District 1), Ron Staples (District 3) and Larry Sayre (District 4).

Sayre, who has served as a county commissioner for 12 years, told the Sun Tribune on Wednesday that he does not plan to run for reelection this year.

Sayre said he has "other irons in the fire" and plans to focus more on his appraisal business. Sayre has worked for the county since 1975, first as a deputy sheriff, then as sheriff for 21 years before being elected to the county board.

"I've had a pretty good run," he said.

Staples said Thursday that at this time he is planning to run.

The filing period for school board and city council elections, which do not have a primary election, opens on Tuesday, July 31 and closes Tuesday, Aug. 14.

Three local school board members will finish their terms this year: Stan Wulf, Dick Metzger and Jamie Solvie.

Two Morris city councilmen will also finish their terms, Bill Stork and Matt Carrington.