Weather Forecast


Westrom announces candidacy for District 12 Senate seat

MORRIS, Minn. - Current District 11A Rep. Torrey Westrom formally announced Saturday that he will be running for the Minnesota Senate in District 12 this fall.

In a statement, Westrom said he was "excited for the new challenge and opportunity."

"Serving citizens in the interests of Minnesota is one of the best things I've done in my life--other than my family," Westrom said.

A new redistricting plan unveiled last Tuesday left District 12 -- which includes parts or all of Stevens, Pope, Stearns, Traverse, Wilkin, Big Stone and Douglas Counties -- without an incumbent state senator.

Stevens County's current senator, Bill Ingebrigtsen, will run for state senate in his new district, District 8.

Westrom was first elected to the Minnesota House of Representatives in 1996, and was the first blind legislator elected in the state of Minnesota.

"Enhancing rural Minnesota life and opportunities is in my blood," Westrom said. "I look forward to meeting and listening to the voters of Senate District 12."

For more information visit