Weather Forecast


UMM Welcomes Community of Scholars Visitors

MORRIS, Minn. -- On Feb. 3 and 4, 2012, approximately 200 students from across the country will come to the University of Minnesota, Morris to participate in the Sixth Annual Community of Scholars event. Students from Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota, North Dakota, New York, South Dakota, Texas, and Wisconsin will compete for the Prairie Scholars Award and the Morris Scholars Award- Morris campus's most prestigious competitive scholarships.

The Prairie Scholars Award is based on exemplary academic and leadership record. The award is a full-tuition scholarship and is renewable for four years with a total value of more than $32,000.

The Morris Scholars Award is awarded based on an outstanding academic and leadership record. Recipients of the Morris Scholars Award will receive a $5,000 per year scholarship, renewable for four years, for a total value of $20,000. In addition, the Morris Scholars Award carries a one-time $2,500 scholarly stipend that may be used during the second, third or fourth year at UMM to engage in an eligible scholarly experience (e.g., to study abroad, to participate in research or artistic projects or for travel to academic conferences).

The applicants have already been offered admission to the University of Minnesota, Morris and they have turned in their scholarship application materials. Recipients of the Prairie Scholars and Morris Scholars Awards will be selected following the Community of Scholars event.

During their visit, the candidates will have opportunities to connect with other scholarship finalists, to interact with current students, to engage with faculty and staff, and to experience the University of Minnesota, Morris campus in-depth. Families of the scholars will also have an opportunity to tour the Morris community as well.