Weather Forecast


Looking Back-Morris

10 Years Ago Items from the Tribune, January 11, 2001

The Morris/Blandin Prairie Renaissance Project has found a temporary home in the AURI offices, located on Atlantic Avenue between Pomme de Terre Foods and Visible Changes. Present for the signing of the lease were Michael Sparby of AURI, Kate Livingston, Coordinating Assistant, Charlotte Seibel, Prairie Renaissance Board co-chair, Philip Drown, Prairie Renaissance Coordinator, and Ron Kubik, Prairie Renaissance Board co-chair.

Harold Luthi, chairman of the SWCD Board of Supervisors, was recognized recently by Stevens SWCD for his 12 years of service to the land, water and people of Stevens County. Harold is a farmer and life-long county resident and retired from the board in 2000. He was honored with a plaque at the annual Christmas party December 6. Dave Jungst presented the plaque.

25 Years Ago Items taken from the Tribune of Jan 9, 1986

The 1986 annual meeting of the Stevens County Board of Commissioners was held Tuesday. Elected to serve as chairman was Wally Staples, while the vice chairman's role went to Herb Kloos. Other board members are Grace Staebler, Bob Stevenson, and Paul Larson.

Judge Terry Collins was on hand at the Morris City Council chambers Tuesday evening to administer the oath-taking of four city officials. Council members taking part in the ceremony were Don Klein, Steven "Skip" Sherstad, and Carol Wilcox. The ceremony was part of the 1986 organizational meeting of the council. Klein, no stranger to the council scene, is back on the council via appointment. Sherstad and Wilcox were the top vote-getters for council in the most recent election. Morris also has a new mayor: Lee Swanson who succeeds Merlin Beyer.

50 Years Ago Items taken from the Tribune of January 20, 1961

Harry Peterson, 66, former clerk of Stevens County District Court died Monday, Jan. 16. Mr. Peterson, lifetime resident of Morris and a veteran of World War I, served 16 years in the office of clerk of court and was well known throughout the county. First elected to the office for the term beginning Jan. 1, 1933, he was reelected for three more four-year terms and served in the office until Jan. 1 of 1949. He was married to Olive Farwell in 1919. Internment was in the Fort Snelling National Cemetery.

John Q. Imholte, lecturer in history and political science at the University of Minnesota, Morris, attended the recent annual meeting of the American Historical Association in New York City. Mr. Imholte received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Washington and Lee University at Lexington, Virginia, and his Master's Degree from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, where he taught history for three years. He expects to complete his doctorate this spring.

90 Years Ago Items taken from the Tribune of January 21, 1921

By a two to one decision the Morris High School debating team defeated the Ortonville High School team in the debate held at the Orpheum Friday evening. Morris was represented by three girls, Mildred Leuty, Jean Harris, and Marion Larson. The question: "Resolved that the Open Shop is Preferable to the Closed Shop in Our Industrial System."

Between 250 and 300 farmers attended the annual meeting of the Hancock Creamery Association held at Hancock on Tuesday. Both in attendance and in the enthusiasm shown for the continued success of the creamery, this was one of the best meetings in the history of the association.

The stockholders of the Citizens Bank held their annual meeting Friday and elected officers for the ensuing year. L. H. Ickler and C. F. Raiter were reelected President and Vice President respectively, S. A. Siverts, who has held the position of cashier, was elected Vice President, and E. J. LaaFave was advanced to the cashiership from assistant cashier. Directors elected are L. H. Ickler, C. F. Raiter, S. A. Siverts, C. J. Ickler, and N. A. Nelson.