Weather Forecast


Looking Back

15 Years Ago

Items from the Sun

of January 9, 1996

Tony and Peggy Ascheman of Hancock are the parents of the first baby born at Stevens Community Medical Center in 1996. Ross Anthony was born on Tuesday, Jan. 2. The Aschemans received gifts from over 20 Morris businesses. Ross has one sister, Abby.

The Pomme de Terre chapter of the Minnesota Deer Hunters Association would like to thank all the businesses who let us display and collect Hides for Habitat. Collection points were West Central Implement and the Morris Locker in Morris, Hennen Repair in Donnelly, Tri-County Co-op in Chokio, Minnewaska Bait and Tackle in Starbuck, and By-Lo Gas in Hancock. Hunters present at the donation were Scott Boettcher, Ray Kill, Jerry Altrich, and Rick Grossman.

40 Years Ago

Items from the Sun

of January 12, 1971

Frederic Spohr of Morris is the new owner of the Hansen Implement as the result of a business transaction which became effective on Jan. 2. He purchased the business from Albert Hansen, who has owned and operated the property for the past 27 years. Mr. Spohr has been employed by Mr. Hansen for 14 years and is thus well acquainted with the business. He will continue to operate it under the name of Hansen Implement. Frederic Spohr is the son of Mr. and Mrs. John Spohr.

The University of Minnesota Board of Regents Friday approved the appointments of two part-time instructors to the faculty at the Morris campus. Janet T. Ahern was appointed instructor in music and Eileen B. Eastman was appointed instructor in sociology.

New officers of the Morris Chamber of Commerce, headed by Mural Erickson as president, were elected at a meeting of the board of directors Thursday morning. Other officers were Rick Rothausen, vice president, and Stan Blasey, secretary- treasurer. Directors include John Lannon, Wayne Riser, John Fletcher, Dick Welsh, Carl Hogander, Bill Rickmeyer, Newell Ueland, Fran Swanson, Jerry Zehr, and Carl Benson. Manager is Dick Bluth.

40 Years Ago

Items from the Sun

of January 19, 1971

The medical staff at the Stevens County Memorial Hospital reorganized for the coming year at a recent medical staff meeting. Dr. R. A. Rossberg will be the new Chief of Staff, succeeding Dr. Wm. J. Kozel. Dr. O. A. Eide will be the Vice-Chief of Staff, and Dr. J. C. Kooda was named Secretary.

The annual Awards Banquet sponsored by the Morris Jaycees, at which the Outstanding Young Man, Outstanding Young Farmer, and Outstanding Boss of the year will be announced will be held in the Morris Senior High School cafeteria on Thursday evening, Jan. 21. Nominees for the Outstanding Boss are Dick Bluth, Wayne Riser, Dan Schivone, Rollie Fevold, Dick Jacobson, Wayne Schmidgall, Chester Larson, Harvey Barberg, and Larry Stillwell. Nominees for the Outstanding Young Man are Sid Wilcox, Dick Bluth, Merrill Pedersen, Harvey Kidman, and Rick Rothausen. Nominees for the Outstanding Young Farmer are James Aanerud, Lanny Rohloff, Paul Huebner, Paul Summer, and Paul Kopel.

Bruce B. Burnes, a University of Minnesota, Morris faculty member, was promoted from instructor to assistant professor in education last week by the University Board of Regents. Burnes, 37, joined the Morris campus faculty in 1968. A native of Red Wing, Burnes graduated from Minneapolis Central High School, received his Bachelor of Science degree in elementary education from Macalester College and received his Master of Arts degree in curriculum and development form the University of Minnesota.

75 Years Ago

Items from the Sun

of January 10, 1936

The much discussed radio system of the state criminal apprehension bureau is just making its appearance in Stevens County with the installation and adjustment of a radio short wave set in the office of Sheriff Helen A. Ryan and in the car driven by Chief Deputy Roger Casey. The new radio here has been on trial for a few weeks and is now a permanent fixture in the sheriff's office.

The relief sewing room was opened on Wednesday in a room at the Longfellow school. Mrs. Tresa Venema has been appointed to take charge of the sewing, which will consist of clothes and bedding to give to the families on the relief roll. Ten women are now sewing and more are expected to report. The women will also collect used clothing and make the garments over into children's clothes.

Three directors whose terms had expired were re-elected at the annual meeting of the Morris Livestock Shipping Association at the agricultural school on Saturday. The directors are Edgar Welfare, August Heubner, and P. S. Jordan. There was considerable discussion on the problems connected with shipping when the amount of livestock was small.

100 Years Ago

Items from theSun of

January 26, 1911

The annual meeting of the Stevens County Agricultural Society was held last Saturday afternoon at the office of the secretary, George W. Beise. The election of officers resulted in the re-election of the president, D. H. Lawler, the vice president, T. F. McCanney, the treasurer, F. R. Putnnam, and the secretary, George. W. Beise. The association voted to pay the Morris Band $50 for their services at the last fair. It was also voted to pay $100 on the indebtedness of the society, $600 having been borrowed toward paying for some of the improvement recently made at the grounds.

The Students Club of Morris met at the home of Mrs. Devenney on Monday afternoon of this week. Mrs. E. J. Jones presided over a short business session which was followed by Parliamentary drill led by Mrs. Stone. The lesson for the day was "Education" under the leadership of Miss Minnie Hanson. Mrs. Tripp contributed to the pleasure of the afternoon by singing a very sweet song, after which Mrs. Devenney served very delicious refreshments.