Weather Forecast


Looking Back-Morris

10 Years Ago Items from the Tribune, January 4, 2001

On Tuesday, the Morris Area School District Board reorganized and welcomed newly elected members Laura Carrington, Adele Cotter, Vance Gullickson, and Patti Nordquist. The addition of the four new "freshman" Board members leaves just three members of the past Board - Kurt Gartland, Roger McCannon, and Mick Schmidgall - remaining. At the same meeting, the Board approved extending the contract of interim superintendent Keith Redfield for another year.

Stevens County Commissioner Bob Stevenson presented Helen Staples, widow of the late Commissioner Wally Staples, with a plaque commemorating the District 3 Commissioner's three-plus decades of service to the county. The plaque was presented during the Board's December 28th meeting.

25 Years Ago Items taken from the Tribune of Jan 2, 1986

Stevens County now operates the ambulance service, and Randy Fischer, ambulance administrator, is now a County employee. That action came at an emergency County Board meeting Tuesday, New Year's Eve. The Commissioners had voted at a recessed meeting Monday to reject the Hospital's proposed capital lease agreement for the ambulance service. After the Commissioners' vote, the Hospital Board at a meeting Monday night decided it did not want to continue operating the ambulance service.

The Morris Literary Club met Dec. 9, at the home of Enid Grindland. Her home was beautifully decorated for the Christmas holidays. After a lunch of Christmas goodies brought by club members, the story of the Christmas tree was read and members shared memories of their childhood Christmases. An inspirational reading and the singing of Christmas carols closed the meeting. The program was planned by Elizabeth Carlson and Edna Carlson.

50 Years Ago Items taken from the Tribune of January 13, 1961

Committees to handle details of the fifth annual Fishing Derby sponsored by the Morris 9-F Sportsmen's Club at Pomme de Terre Lake on Sunday, Jan. 22 were announced this week. On the Ice Holes committee are Jim Lesmeister, DeWayne Michaelson, Butch Wartman, Leif Lie, and Bud Schultz. At the meeting of the 9-F board of directors last Friday evening, Spike Schultz was named president of the club, Lloyd Heintzelman vice-president, and Elmer F. Anderson secretary-treasurer.

The annual meeting of the First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Morris will be held in the accounting department room in the Citizens Bank building on Wednesday evening, Jan. 18, it was announced by R. B. O'Neill, secretary. Among the business on the evening's agenda will be to hear the secretary's report of the past year's business operations, and to elect two members to the association's board of directors. The terms of T. J. Stahler and C. I. Dolva expire at this time.

All officers of the Stevens County Wildlife Conservation league were re-elected for 1961 at the annual meeting of the league on Wednesday evening. Walfred Erickson heads the league as its president. Bert Hockert is vice-president and Judge E. L. Cress is secretary-treasurer. Peter Falk of Morris was named trustee for three years.

90 Years Ago Items taken from the Tribune of January 14, 1921

The operators at the local telephone office were pleasantly entertained by Mrs. Borden on Wednesday evening. The entertainment was given in Mr. Borden's room in the basement of the telephone building and the evening was spent in playing games and dancing. A dainty lunch was served and all had an enjoyable time.

About 5 o'clock Saturday morning the fire department was called to put out a fire at the Morris City Mills. The fire, of unknown origin, broke out in the boiler room and for a while threatened destruction of that part of the city, but by the quick work on the part of the fire department, the fire was put out in a short time and the damage limited. The doors of the engine house were destroyed and the roof partly damaged.

The Morris National Farm Loan Association held its annual meeting in the Morris Commercial Club rooms on Tuesday afternoon for the election of officers and hearing reports on the business transacted during the past year. James W. Behl, Henry Bergherr, and Ernest E. Hall were reelected President, Vice-President, and Secretary-Treasurer respectively. Wm. F. Albers was reelected member of the Board of Directors. Louis Foley and W. P. Henrickson, who the past year served as directors, did not wish to be reelected. Paul Spooner and C. L. Cook were the new directors elected.