Weather Forecast


Election filings close

Filings have closed for several statewide and county offices.

Here's a rundown of the seats up for election and the candidates. Minnesota's primary election is Aug. 10:

Minnesota District 11 Senate -- Incumbent Bill Ingebrigtsen, who is completing his first term, will be challenged by Jim Thoreen, former Stevens County Coordinator.

Minnesota District 11A House of Representatives -- Incumbent Torrey Westrom will be challenged by Bennett Smith and Dave Holman.

Stevens County Board of Commissioners -- Jeanne Ennen filed on Tuesday in District 2 and will run against Steve Storck for the seat held by Herb Kloos. Kloos is not running for reelection. In District 5, Phil Gausman, Bob Kopitzke, Kevin Manney and Roger McCannon have filed. Incumbent commissioner Don Munsterman did not file for reelection.

Other filings include: Charles Glasrud for County Attorney; Neil Wiese for county Auditor/Treasurer; Randy Willis for Sheriff; Virginia Mahoney for county Recorder; James Krosch for Soil and Water Conservation District 3; George Libbon for SWCD 2.

The filing period for offices in municipalities and school districts that hold primaries is May 18 through June 1. Municipalities and school districts -- including the City of Morris and the Morris Area School District -- that do not hold primaries file Aug. 3 through Aug. 17.