Weather Forecast


UPDATE: Two more candidates join District 5 commissioner's race

Earlier this month, Donnelly native Bennett Smith was giving the student speech at the University of Minnesota, Morris Commencement. Last week, he filed to challenge Republican incumbent Torrey Westrom in the District 11A House race.

Smith is the third Stevens County-area candidate to commit to a run for state office this spring. Dave Holman, of the Independence Party, has filed to run in District 11A. Westrom, of Elbow Lake, filed for reelection earlier this week.

Retiring Stevens County Coordinator Jim Thoreen made his run for the Minnesota District 11 Senate seat official by filing his candidacy last week to run against Republican incumbent Bill Ingebrigtsen, of Alexandria.

On Friday, Bob Kopitzke and Roger McCannon joined Kevin Manney and Phil Gausman as candidates for the District 5 Stevens County Board of Commissioners seat. Incumbent District 5 Commissioner Don Munsterman said last week he had not decided whether he will seek reelection.

Steve Storck filed to run for the commissioners seat in District 2, the seat currently held by Herb Kloos. Kloos, in his 28th year on the board, said last week that will not seek reelection.

The filing period for offices in municipalities and school districts that hold primaries is May 18 through June 1. Municipalities and school districts that do not hold primaries file Aug. 3 through Aug. 17.

Other filings include: Charles Glasrud for County Attorney; Neil Wiese for county Auditor/Treasurer; Randy Willis for Sheriff; Virginia Mahoney for county Recorder; James Krosch for Soil and Water Conservation District 3; George Libbon for SWCD 2.