Weather Forecast


47th UMM Commencement Ceremonies will be held May 15

More than 300 seniors will receive bachelor of arts degrees during the 47th University of Minnesota, Morris Commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 15, 2010. Faculty, staff, family, and friends will gather on the mall to recognize the accomplishments of the graduates. The celebration begins with division receptions from 11 a.m. until 12:30 p.m., and the ceremony begins at 1:30 p.m.

The Symphonic Winds, under the direction of Martin H. Seggelke, assistant professor of music, and the Concert Choir, under the direction of Ken Hodgson, associate professor of music, will perform a pre-commencement concert and musical selections during the ceremony. Adam Schmiesing '10, Swanville, will conduct "Music for a Festival", and Anna K. Jessup '10, Brooten, will lead the "Star Spangled Banner".

Student Color guards Kristin Youngblom '12, Lafayette, and Katie Barron '11, St. Paul, will lead the processional. Mace Bearer is Michael Lackey, assistant professor of English. Student Marshals are Dominic Scheck '11, Brooklyn Park, and Julie Drennen '12, Lino Lakes. Faculty Marshal is Jennifer Rothchild, associate professor of sociology.

Chancellor Jacqueline R. Johnson will give the welcome and recognize special guests.

"I am delighted to announce that two very special guests will join the UMM community for this year's commencement," states Johnson. "Regent Clyde Allen, chair of the University of Minnesota Board of Regents, will bring official 'regental' greetings, and President Robert Bruininks will serve as commencement speaker. This year, during our yearlong 2010 Celebration, the University of Minnesota, Morris marks its 50th anniversary. The attendance of key University officials Bruininks and Allen acknowledges this historic moment, reaffirming the campus's unique public liberal arts mission in the future of the University, the region, and the state."

Chosen by fellow graduates to represent his class, student commencement speaker this year will be Bennett Smith '10, Morris.

Kathy Julik-Heine'10, Taylor Falls, will introduce the commencement speaker, President Robert Bruininks.

In recognition of the campus's origins as an American Indian boarding school, a Native American Honor Song will be performed by the Northern Wind Singers to recognize and pay tribute to the achievements of Morris scholars. The Honor Song will be dedicated to the Class of 2010. Alumnus Gabriel B. Desrosiers '05 is lead singer and keeper of the drum.

Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean Cheryl K. Contant will present the Class of 2010. Regent Allen will confer degrees. Jim Mahoney '85, president of the University of Minnesota, Morris Alumni Association, will welcome the newest members of the alumni association.

Following the ceremony, a reception will be held in Oyate Hall in the Student Center. Commencement guests are invited to view the 2010 Senior Art Show in the Humanities Fine Arts Gallery before and after the ceremony.

University of Minnesota, Morris Media Services will live Web cast the event. The link will be on the home page at on Commencement day. For those unable to sit outdoors, the ceremony is also streamed live to Edson Auditorium in the Student Center, and KKOK 95.7 broadcasts the ceremony live.

In the event of inclement weather, the ceremony will held in the PE Center.