Weather Forecast


7th District GOP delegates choose Willmar businessman to challenge Peterson

MOORHEAD - Delegates at the Minnesota Seventh District Republican Convention today in Moorhead chose Lee Byberg, a Willmar businessman, as their candidate for Congress.

Byberg received more than 60 percent support from 258 delegates on the first ballot of voting in a field of five candidates, party officials said.

Agriculture will be a main focus of Byberg's campaign to unseat Rep. Collin Peterson, D-Minn., chairman of the House Agriculture Committee.

In a straw poll in a seven-candidate race for Minnesota GOP nomination for governor, Marty Seifert of Marshall led the field with 170 votes, or 66 percent, followed by Tom Emmer of Delano's 75 votes, or more than 29 percent.

Phil Herwig of Milaca received 9 votes and Bill Haas of Champlin got 2 votes.