Weather Forecast


Morris firefighters elect officers

Morris Fire Department officers for 2010 are, from left, Truck Captain Fred Moser, Rescue Captain Dave Dybdal, Training Officer Kevin Stallman, Treasurer Brian Kruize, Secretary Matt Solemsaas, Assistant Chief Pat Daly, Assistant Chief Joe Lembcke, and Chief Doug Storck. Not pictured are Ladder Captain Randy Staples, and Chaplin/Fire Education Coordinator Joe Udelhofen.

The Morris Fire Department reviewed 2009 and prepared for 2010 during its annual meeting last month.

Two firefighters, Mike Moser and Rob Eul, submitted their retirement notices. Eul has 26 years of service and Moser has 24. Both retired Jan. 1.

The department has 31 members for 2010.

Doug Storck was again voted Chief 2010, with Joe Lembcke and Pat Daly serving as Assistant Chiefs.

Other officers for 2010 include: Matt Solemsaas, Secretary; Brian Kruize, Treasurer; Kevin Stallman, Training Officer; Dave Dybdal, Rescue Captain; Randy Staples, Ladder Captain; Fred Moser, Truck Captain; and Joe Udelhofen, Fire Education Coordinator.

The department also reviewed 2009 calls, budgets and purchases and drills, equipment condition and future needs.

The department breakdown of its 62 calls in 2009 is:

6 - Rescue Calls

2 - Missing Person

2 - Vehicle Fires

32 - Fire Alarms

6 - Structure Fires

1 - Mutual Aid

4 - Wild land Fires

9 - Miscellaneous