Weather Forecast


Tigers place at individual section match

The Section 3A individual wrestling tournament was held Feb. 27-28 at Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall.

Tony Domnick took fifth place at 103 pounds. He started his day with two byes. In his first match, he wrestled Morgan Staton of Benson and lost by fall in 5:02. In the consolation bracket, Domnick defeated Colby Gimmestad of Ortonville by fall in 3:38. He then won an 8-0 decision over Dillon Guttormsson of Minneota. Domnick then lost by fall in 1:59 to Kurt Timmons of Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg, who went on to win third place. Domnick then won a 13-4 decision over Brady Bos of Pipestone Area for fifth place.

At 112 pounds, Jordan Thooft started with a fall in 2:46 to Seth Pillatzki of Benson. In the consolation bracket, Thooft lost by fall in 1:33 to Levi Specht of Yellow Medicine East, who finished in fourth place.

At 119 pounds, John Zierke opened with three byes before falling in 0:36 to Jordan Rothers of K-M-S, the eventual third-place winner. Zierke then wrestled in the fifth-place match, where he fell in 4:59 to John Deslauriers of Canby.

Tim Ostby took sixth place at 125 pounds. After two byes, Ostby lost a 4-3 decision to Cedric Citrowske of Canby. In the consolation bracket, Ostby won by fall in 1:26 over Josh Frentzl of Benson. He then pinned Taylor Wirt of MACCRAY in 0:45. Ostby then dropped an 8-0 decision to Tyler Fagen of Renville County West. He met Citrowske in the fifth-place match and lost a 5-2 decision for sixth place.

Eric Goette took third place at 130 pounds. After two byes, Goette pinned Taylor Stotesbery of Ortonville in 2:51. He then lost a 4-2 decision to Alex Lessman of Minneota. In the consolation bracket, Goette won an 18-2 technical fall over Jesse Lundebrek of Benson. In the third-place match, Goette won a 7-3 decision over Jadon Evans of Pipestone Area.

Josh Nelson took fourth place at 135 pounds. Nelson started with two byes, then won a 13-5 decision over Aaron Doraska of K-M-S. Nelson then lost by fall in 3:38 to Sam Derynck of Minneota. In the consolation bracket, Nelson defeated Mitch Agre of RCW by fall in 0:37. In the third-place match, Nelson lost a 7-0 decision to Brett Citrowske of Canby for fourth place.

At 152 pounds, Tanner Berning started with two byes before dropping a 4-3 decision to Adam Longtin of Minneota, who advanced to take fourth place. In the consolation bracket, Berning dropped a 6-4 decision to Trevor Mahlum of K-M-S.

At 160 pounds, Ryan Beyer started with a pair of byes, before falling in 3:05 to Brandon Alfson of Pipestone, who took second place. In the consolation bracket, Beyer dropped a 15-5 decision to Brent Jaenisch of MACCRAY. Jaenisch took fourth place.

At 171 pounds, Wade Ehlers had one bye, before falling to Mitchell Hagen of K-M-S in 0:24. Hagen took first place. In the consolation bracket, Ehlers lost by fall in 5:23 to Andrew Carruth of Benson.

At 189 pounds, Jeff Knobloch had one bye before a fall to Joel Bauman of K-M-S in 1:48. Bauman took first place. In the consolation bracket, Knobloch dropped an 8-0 decision to Jared Longtin of Minneota who took third place.

Zach Gibson took sixth place at 285 pounds. After two byes, Gibson lost by fall in 1:00 to Cole Gigstad of RCW, who took fourth place. In the consolation bracket, Gibson won by fall in 4:18 over Tim Savig of YME. He then won by fall in 1:02 over Jordan Longtin of Minneota. He then dropped a 5-1 decision to Adam Wetzel of K-M-S, who took third place. In the fifth-place match, Gibson dropped a 3-2 decision to John Gorter of Pipestone for sixth place.