Weather Forecast


Morris Fire Department elects officers, recognizes accomplishments at meeting

The Morris Fire Department elected new officers for 2009 at its recent annual meeting. From left to right, seated, are Chief Doug Storck, 1st Assistant Chief Joe Lembcke, 2nd Assistant Chief Pat Daly. From left, in back, are Treasurer Brian Kruize, Training Officer/Chaplain Joe Udelhofen, Secretary Matt Solemsass, Rescue Captain Dave Dybdal, Truck Captain Fred Moser and Ladder Captain Ken Lesmeister.

The Morris Fire Dept. recently held its annual meeting.

Officers installed for the new year are the:

• Doug Storck, Chief;

• Joe Lembcke, 1st Assistant Chief;

• Pat Daly, 2nd Assistant Chief.

• Brian Kruize, Treasurer;

• Joe Udelhofen, Training Officer/Chaplain;

• Matt Solemsass, Secretary;

• Dave Dybdal, Rescue Captain;

• Fred Moser, Truck Captain;

• Ken Lesmeister, Ladder Captain.

Issues covered at the annual included:

• The Department recognized Dwain Schmidt as Fireman of the Year.

• Stepping down as officers were Jeff Miller as Truck Captain and Kirk Riley as Assistant Chief.

• The Morris Fire Department's fiscal year runs from Nov. 1 to Oct. 31. In 2008, the department responded to 47 fire calls and logged nearly 700 training hours.

• Six new firemen were sworn in as full fledged members after completing a one year probation period. The new members are: Martin Flicek, Jon Anderson, Justin Howe, C.J. Fromm, Brandon Ketz and Pete Hentges.

The Morris Fire Dept. consists of 33 members covering 121 square miles in Stevens County for fire calls and 576 square miles for mutual aid and rescue calls.