Weather Forecast


Cougars place 3rd, 4th at home

At the Pomme de Terre Golf Club in Morris Saturday, Martin Luther College claimed the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference men's cross country championship. Martin Luther reclaimed the league trophy after Northwestern College and the College of St. Scholastica won the last two years. Before 2007, the Knights had won eight straight men's championships. 

Martin Luther was led by sophomore Nathan Loersch, who ran the 8,000-meter course's fastest time at 27:13.  Northwestern and St. Scholastica finished second and third, respectively, while the University of Minnesota, Morris and North Central University wrapped up the top-five teams.

For the Cougars, Luke Toso finished in sixth place with a time of 27:57.9. Andrew Rehmann took 16th place with a 29:17.8 and Ian Philbrick was 18th in 29:24.6. In 20th place was Dan Nelson with a time of 29:27.0, Ted Gray took 22nd in 29:37.4, Tony Kruger was 27th in 29:50.2, and Matt Ellison was 29th in 30:14.0.

In the women's championship race, St. Scholastica took the trophy for its eighth straight time, as the Saints have won the title every year since 2001.  Junior Katelyn Meger ran the 6,000-meter course in 22:58 to win individual honors while pacing her team.  Northwestern and UMM finished second and third, while North Central and Northland College claimed fourth and fifth place.

Cougar Katie Schneiderman finished in sixth place with a time of 24:55.7. Allie Betsch took 13th place in 25:53.6 and Debbie Schneiderman took 20th place in 27:04.8. In 21st place was Gemma Miltich with a 27:12.8, in 26th was Mallory King in 28:07.3, finishing 28th was Cristina Montanez in 28:14.9, and taking 34th was Melissa Kloek with a 28:42.5.