Weather Forecast


UPDATE -- Forum set for local government candidates

By Tom Larson

Sun Tribune

Candidates for local government offices will discuss their views during a candidate forum on Thursday, Oct. 9 in Morris.

The forum is 7 p.m. at the Morris American Legion. It's sponsored by the auxiliaries of the Morris American Legion, VFW and AmVet posts and the League of Women Voters of Stevens County.

Candidates for Stevens County Board of Commissioners, the Morris City Council, the Morris Area School Board, and Minnesota House District 11A have been invited to participate.

The District 11A candidates -- Republican Torrey Westrom, DFLer Bruce Campbell and the Independence Party's Dave Holman -- may be at the forum later that evening. The three are scheduled to debate on Pioneer Public TV earlier the evening on Oct. 9.

The forum is free and open to the public, and refreshments will be available.

Six men are running for two Morris City Council seats, and the Morris Area School Board has four people running for four open seats.

Two incumbents and three challengers are running for three seats on the Stevens County Board of Commissioners.

For the county seats, Craig Murphy and Ron Staples are running for the seat opening with the retirement of Neal Hofland. Donnie Wohlers is challenging incumbent Larry Sayre, and incumbent Paul Watzke is running unopposed.

For City Council, incumbents Matt Carrington and Bill Storck are being challenged by Mike Grittner, Garrett Hoyer, Nathan Petersen and Cal Van Horn.

The council seats are four-year positions.

In the school board race, incumbents Laura Carrington, John Luetmer and Mike Schmidgall did not file for reelection. Incumbent Brent Fuhrman filed for a second four-year term.

Joining Fuhrman on the ballot are challengers Dick Metzger, James Solvie and Stan Wulf.

In the District 11A race, Republican incumbent Torrey Westrom is running for a seventh term and is being challenged by Bruce Campbell, a Democrat from Alexandria, and Dave Holman, of Morris, the Independence Party candidate.