Weather Forecast


West Central Wizards take second at Fargo Meltdown

From the June 12 issue

of Let's Play Hockey

The 1994 West Central Wizards took second place at the fifth annual Fargo Parks Spring Meltdown Tournament, a four-game AAA tournament at the Fargo Southwest Arena and the Moorhead Sports Center. Local skaters included Tanner Picht, Mac Beyer, Andrew Rentz, and Jordan Staples.

The '94 Wizards, composed of skaters from Morris/Benson, Wadena, and Prairie Centre, faced the Crookston Jr. Pirates in their first game. Scoring for the Wizards were Andrew Rentz, Bridger Pettit, Cody Bartkowicz, Nate Mettenburg, Jordan Staples, Mac Beyer, and Tyler Schultz for a 7-1 win. The Wizards then faced the Fargo-Moorhead Gators in their second game. The 6-2 win came with goals from Austin Bjorge, Tanner Picht twice, Trenton Wollenburg, Bartkowicz, and Sean Colten.

The third game matched the Wizards against the Minnesota Moose. The Wizards' only goal was by Schultz, while the Moose scored twice for the 2-1 win.

The Wizards advanced to the championship game via a "goals allowed" tiebreaker. Goaltender Peter Tolles allowed only five goals over the first three games, the lowest among three tied teams.

The championship game was a rematch of the 2006 Meltdown championship, with West Central facing the Interlake (Manitoba) Lightning. The physical first period ended wtih the Lightning holding a 2-1 lead, the lone Wizards goal coming from a Robby Polipnick slapshot, this time deflected up and in by Cody Bartkowicz. It was to be the only Wizards goal of the game, as the Lightning took control in the third period, and won the championship 6-1.

The Wizards are coached by Jim Rentz and Jason Picht.