Weather Forecast


Staples files for county board

Ron Staples has filed to run for the District 3 Stevens County Board of Commissioners seat.

Staples filed Friday for the seat being vacated by two-term incumbent Neal Hofland. Hofland announced this spring that he would not seek reelection.

County board incumbents Larry Sayre and Paul Watzke also have filed for reelection. No challengers for their seats have emerged.

Filings opened July 1 and will close July 15.

Staples challenged Hofland in 2004.

Mary Ann Scharf and Dave Lonergan have filed for two of the three open seats on the Stevens County Soil and Water Conservation District board.

The Morris Area School Board filing dates are Aug. 26 through Sept. 9. The seats of Laura Carrington, Brent Fuhrman, John Luetmer and Mike Schmidgall are up for election this year.

Morris City Council filing dates also are Aug. 26 to Sept. 9.

The council seats of Matt Carrington and Bill Storck are up for election. Carrington is serving out the council term of Sheldon Giese, who was elected mayor in 2006.

The general election is Nov. 4.